Question about check situation

Sort:
Avatar of lingar222

Hi, 

Question that uprised in my mind. See the photo attached.

Is in this case the Black King cannot (by rules) to move to f7null and if cannot why not ?

The white rook on f2  is locked and cannot attack him. 

 

Thanks. 

Avatar of m_connors

Although the Rook is pinned to the King by the Queen, Black's King can still not move into the Rook's path. Think of it this way, if the King made the move, the Rook would "take him" and the game ends immediately before the Queen could "take" the White King. As King's are not removed from the board, this wouldn't happen; however, the premise prevents Black from moving Kf7. 

Avatar of lingar222

Ahh get it. Thanks !