13434 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Backgammon, Yatzy, and more!
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
Stop being friendly and start becoming ruthless. Take my advice, I tell you. :)
Pandas don't mess around...
Schrodingers (of course I know it isn't Schrodinger) and their cats don't mess around...
Blitz games generally don't offer and take draws and touch move doesn't matter in blitz
If its tournament blitz ( both USCF and FIDE ) touch move certainly does apply .
I'd like to ask a question related to this topic:
I've watched a few videos of blitz games between super GMs, and toward the end of each game, when both players only have a few seconds left, I'm almost positive that I've seen a player start to make his move immediately after his opponent has finished making his move, but hasn't hit his clock. Since the games I was watching were official games, I'm sure that this is legal - if I saw correctly. But because the players were moving so fast, I'm not sure if I missed it when one of the players hit his clock. So does anyone know whether it is actually legal?
Here's one of the videos where this happened:
There's a video of the famous blitz game that Carlsen lost to Kosteniuk.
At the end of the game, he picks up his rook and resigns because he grabbed the wrong rook.
Fact: the two little dots above the ö are bullet holes.
I wonder how often this happens at the GM level, at least in blitz. I can't imagine a top-level player goofing in a standard tournament.
The rule is you can move as soon as the opponent has moved his piece, but you must allow him to stop his clock. IOW moving is fine, but as some players used to do at club blitz, beating him to the clock and holding down your own button so he can't press his own clock is illegal.
by rraju_lutheran 18 minutes ago
The ultimate 1 second battle - Quality Vs Quantity
by CaloNord 19 minutes ago
Advantages and Weakness
by spawkle529 21 minutes ago
what should i play after 1.e4 , but not the sicillian. i hate the sicilllian.
by enriqueebe 26 minutes ago
Who is the greatest chess player of all time ?? Bobby Fischer ??
by JQX07 28 minutes ago
Could you give me some advices about my opening repertoire?
by btl1230 35 minutes ago
by shadowcat53 35 minutes ago
POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE.
by RonaldJosephCote 37 minutes ago
Does chess help you in your daily life?
by gssleader 40 minutes ago
I just won a tournament!
by LalappanStrikes 40 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2016 Chess.com
• Chess - English
Try the new Chess.com!
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!