The question is: did you play with Fisher incremental time (additional time of 30 seconds) or not?
If one player is not required to keep score he must as soon as either flag has fallen, update his scoresheet completely before moving a piece on the chessboard. You may use your opponent’s scoresheet then. When both players have not enough time left on their clock the TD or an assistant have to note the moves on a scoresheet.
When claiming a draw you'll have to prove it. You could as well have asked a friend of your's to keep score when you are unable to keep score yourself!
So...you guys might not even believe the situation but im going to say it anyways
Recently OTB, I just played a game in which i got to the rare ending of K+R vs. K+N where I was on the inferior (K+N) side. I tried to claim a draw by drawn position, but that wasnt valid. Oh, and by the way, I was down to about 8 seconds of time left in the second, final TC and was practically moving within the delay-so insane time pressure here and my opponent didn't want a draw with his some 25 mins left. (and we were the last game left in the section that day)
I obviously did not record the moves on my scoresheet as a result. Guess what? My clock has a move counter so I was just looking at that for the 50 move rule which legally started on move 84 said the TD but I thought it was like move 85. So at move 135, I attempt to claim a draw by the 50 move rule and the TD asks me since what move. I say move 85, but he says nope thats incorrect so that was invalid. AND I couldve claimed a draw by 3 move rep too but that was invalidated as well b/c I didn't have scoresheet proof. BUT How THE .... would I HAVE SCORESHEET PROOF-IVE been living on the delay since like move 75 and my opp was using a monroi and Im not allowed to look at it to show MY proof for some reason?!??
Anyways, I took a psychological blow and the next move after my claim was invalidated I moved my knight where it got skewered. TECHNICALLY, I can still claim a draw here b/c the knight isn't officially taken yet and its been past 50 moves but this wasn't allowed b/c of my 'false' claim a move ago and so I was forced to resign a dead drawn game. He said that I need to bring it to the attention of the TD but since we were the last game and the TD was watching, I assumed he would know...
AHHH the pain...so can someone just explain these suttleties and this crap please? I believe deserved a draw. ANd this tourney game ended at like 11 and started at 4:30...I made the blunder out of fatigue and the psych blow...Ugh...
Thankfully, the TD is giving me a .5 bye for the round, but the game is still going to affect my rating a bit. Im a 1610 and this was against an 1800....and I was black