What happens if your opponent dies at the chessboard ?

Ziggy_Zugzwang

Would you claim a win ? I think I would. A manager of an English football once said that football was not a matter of life and death, but much more important...No less could be said of chess.

Though in fairness to the just deceased player, I don't think it should affect his grading.

biff55

who cares about the chess ???

pfft , wallet watch phone & car keys would be on my mind foremost......

cornbeefhashvili

If he dies, he dies.....

formyoffdays

I've died many times at the chessboard.

Brendanzeros

Lol formyoffdays

MrDamonSmith

Uh, dial 911? Is this multiple choice? How many tries do we get?

I_Am_Second
Ziggy_Zugzwang wrote:

Would you claim a win ? I think I would. A manager of an English football once said that football was not a matter of life and death, but much more important...No less could be said of chess.

Though in fairness to the just deceased player, I don't think it should affect his grading.

Chess is not a matter of life or death, chess itself is not life or death.  This Nike...win at all cost mentality is retarded.

MrDamonSmith

I'd be tempted to let his clock run out first before I made the call, you know how chess players are. Amirite y'all?

neznaika2012

What if the player falls asleep/passes out during a rapid or blitz (no move records) and bangs his head on the board knocking all the pieces down?

PearlFey
neznaika2012 wrote:

What if the player falls asleep/passes out during a rapid or blitz (no move records) and bangs his head on the board knocking all the pieces down?

More interesting question; what happens if the arbiter does that?

Kieseritzkys_Revenge
neznaika2012 wrote:

What if the player falls asleep/passes out during a rapid or blitz (no move records) and bangs his head on the board knocking all the pieces down?

This has happened to me but it was long time controls.  I "accidently" spilled my coffee on his head. He awoke in a shock and assumed he knocked the coffee over when he fell asleep!

PearlFey
Kieseritzkys_Revenge wrote:
neznaika2012 wrote:

What if the player falls asleep/passes out during a rapid or blitz (no move records) and bangs his head on the board knocking all the pieces down?

This has happened to me but it was long time controls.  I "accidently" spilled my coffee on his head. He awoke in a shock and assumed he knocked the coffee over when he fell asleep!

Of all the stories in this thread, this one happened the most.

gbidari

According to the rulebook, he no longer has to take notation.

jurassicmark

You slowly remove the knife and wipe the blade on his pant leg.

Jimmykay

According to Fide rule 6.3.7, the game is declared a dead draw.

jurassicmark
Jimmykay wrote:

According to Fide rule 6.3.7, the game is declared a dead draw.

Oh, I see what you did there.

SilentKnighte5

Whose move was it?

Kieseritzkys_Revenge

They're supposed to write down their moves despite their death.  Like Monty Python Holy Grail.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XiT_5cr3tYI

"1 e4 ......aaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrgggggggggghhhhhh"

MeTristan

Depends how he died.

Ben-Lui

You just continue playing the game, recording your (good) and his (bad) moves on both scoresheets. When you've mated him, you call the arbiter over and say that you think your opponent's not feeling well.