What is the most SURPRISING incident happen with you while playing OTB tourney?

  • #241
    In my first OTB tourney, I knew close to nothing about the rules of tournament play (I lost my first game on touch- move) so in my 2nd game I see my opponent making mistakes in his notation, like writing re8 instead of rae8. I keep pointing these out, not realizing that I am distracting him an honestly thinking that I was helping. Eventually, he got so annoyed that he literally screamed, which echoed around the whole room. --------------------------------------------- About a year ago, I had the pleasure of playing the 83 year old GM Arthur Bisguier. He was still quite a strong player (around 2200). However, captures were unusual. He would remove my piece from the board entirely, set it down, and then move his piece to the square my piece was just on. One time he intended to take my bishop with his knight, and removed my bishop from the board... And then paused for a second before setting his knight down on the wrong square!
  • #242

    I bet it feels presumptuous to tell a GM and former US Champion how to play chess.Tongue Out

  • #243
    varelse1 wrote:

    I bet it feels presumptuous to tell a GM and former US Champion how to play chess.

    Maybe he was attempting a swindle. If the opponent doesn't catch it, you didn't do it. :-P

  • #244
    FirebrandX wrote:
    varelse1 wrote:

    I bet it feels presumptuous to tell a GM and former US Champion how to play chess.

    Maybe he was attempting a swindle. If the opponent doesn't catch it, you didn't do it. :-P

    Very true. Polgar didn't call Kasparov a cheat, when he did it. Did she?

  • #245

    varelse1 wrote:

    I bet it feels presumptuous to tell a GM and former US Champion how to play chess.

    :-)

  • #246

    I played a tournament in manhattan, my opponent moved a piece, let go of it, paused for about 5 seconds, realized it was a blunder that dropped a piece, and then said "jadoube" and moved it back.  

      I argued with him about it but he didn't want to admit that he cheated.  I also didn't have any proof so I just let it slide.  Eventually I got outplayed, and would have lost the game, but then he offered me a draw.  

      He then said "Are we even?"  And I thought to myself:  sure, jerk...

    :)

  • #247
    Zenchess wrote:

    I played a tournament in manhattan, my opponent moved a piece, let go of it, paused for about 5 seconds, realized it was a blunder that dropped a piece, and then said "jadoube" and moved it back.  

      I argued with him about it but he didn't want to admit that he cheated.  I also didn't have any proof so I just let it slide.  Eventually I got outplayed, and would have lost the game, but then he offered me a draw.  

      He then said "Are we even?"  And I thought to myself:  sure, jerk...

    :)

    I saw something similar to that in another match, where this guy moved a piece to a square, paused for about 3 seconds and then said "adjust" and moved it back (without taking his hand off it). I think this is still cheating, but nobody could prove that he did it - he lost the game anyway :)

  • #248
    UltraLaser wrote:
    Zenchess wrote:

    I played a tournament in manhattan, my opponent moved a piece, let go of it, paused for about 5 seconds, realized it was a blunder that dropped a piece, and then said "jadoube" and moved it back.  

      I argued with him about it but he didn't want to admit that he cheated.  I also didn't have any proof so I just let it slide.  Eventually I got outplayed, and would have lost the game, but then he offered me a draw.  

      He then said "Are we even?"  And I thought to myself:  sure, jerk...

    :)

    I saw something similar to that in another match, where this guy moved a piece to a square, paused for about 3 seconds and then said "adjust" and moved it back (without taking his hand off it). I think this is still cheating, but nobody could prove that he did it - he lost the game anyway :)

    I wouldn't allow people to do that to me in a tournament. I'd signal the TD and explain the situation. If the person denies it, then they are lying in addition to breaking the rules. It would be on record with the TD even if no ruling was made, thus, the next time a complaint is made, they will not be able to lie about it successfully.

  • #249
    Zenchess wrote:

    I played a tournament in manhattan, my opponent moved a piece, let go of it, paused for about 5 seconds, realized it was a blunder that dropped a piece, and then said "jadoube" and moved it back.  

      I argued with him about it but he didn't want to admit that he cheated.  I also didn't have any proof so I just let it slide.  Eventually I got outplayed, and would have lost the game, but then he offered me a draw.  

      He then said "Are we even?"  And I thought to myself:  sure, jerk...

    :)

    I had a similar experience.  I was playing someone in a very small tournament run by a high schooler.  My opponent, a nice middle aged man eventually blundered a piece.  With a very friendly tone, he said something along the lines to, "That's not a good way to end a game.  Can I take that back?" As I was 10 years old, I didn't have enough sense to disagree so he took it back and eventually outplayed me.  When it was mate in 1, he offered a draw.  

  • #250
    UltraLaser wrote:
    Zenchess wrote:

    I played a tournament in manhattan, my opponent moved a piece, let go of it, paused for about 5 seconds, realized it was a blunder that dropped a piece, and then said "jadoube" and moved it back.  

      I argued with him about it but he didn't want to admit that he cheated.  I also didn't have any proof so I just let it slide.  Eventually I got outplayed, and would have lost the game, but then he offered me a draw.  

      He then said "Are we even?"  And I thought to myself:  sure, jerk...

    :)

    I saw something similar to that in another match, where this guy moved a piece to a square, paused for about 3 seconds and then said "adjust" and moved it back (without taking his hand off it). I think this is still cheating, but nobody could prove that he did it - he lost the game anyway :)

    I thought as long as he is not removing his touch he can still change where it goes?

  • #251

    He let go of the piece, and then moved an entirely different piece :)

  • #252
    mvtjc wrote:
    UltraLaser wrote:

    I saw something similar to that in another match, where this guy moved a piece to a square, paused for about 3 seconds and then said "adjust" and moved it back (without taking his hand off it). I think this is still cheating, but nobody could prove that he did it - he lost the game anyway :)

    I thought as long as he is not removing his touch he can still change where it goes?

    Yes, he can move it to a different square as long as he didn't let go of it... but since he didn't say "adjust" or "j'adoube" BEFORE touching the pice, he still has to move that particular piece.

    If the move that he started to make (without taking his hand off the piece) was a capture... in other words, if he has touched both his own piece and also one of yours... then he MUST make that capture, regardless of the fact that he didn't let go of his own piece.

  • #253

    Strangest thing to happen in an OTB tournament? I actually won a game.

  • #254

    I'll start off by saying this was not my proudest moment and I'm not terribly proud of it. This was the last round of an OTB tournament in North Carolina. If I won this game I would win my section. Except that I am getting trounced. I have my opponent's queen, but in return he has 3 minor pieces and a rook. This will not end well.

    Then I look over at the clock, and realize he's running very short of time. It's 40/2 then G/60, and he's only made 39 moves and his flag is about to drop. He's really scrutinizng the position and searching for the perfect move; he seems oblivious to his clock situation. I watch his flag fall, then call it. He says, "I've made 40 moves though." I show him my scoresheet, whcih very clearly shows he has only made 39 moves. He shows me his scoresheet, which is a complete mess: chickenscratch writing, scratchouts everywhere, and he's using descriptive notation to boot. We stop the clock and get the TD. He plays through each of our scoresheets, and upholds my claim. My opponent is burning holes through my forehead. I can tell he wants to say, "So you wanted the win that badly?" Yes. Yes I did.

    I can't say I feel great about winning this way, especially in a game that I was supposed to lose. But then, managing your clock is part of the game. Managing your scoresheet so that it's readable is also part of the game.

  • #255

    I wonder if that's what happened to Ivanchuk.

  • #256
    BetweenTheWheels wrote:

    I can't say I feel great about winning this way, especially in a game that I was supposed to lose. But then, managing your clock is part of the game. Managing your scoresheet so that it's readable is also part of the game.

    You shouldn't feel bad at all. The clock is just as much part of winning as delivering checkmate is. I claimed a flag win in the photo below (and I didn't feel the least bit ashamed):

  • #257

    I had to play this old homeless guy a couple of years ago. He kept screaming at me because I did not properly call "I adjust" when it was my move (i think this is the rule). I suppose he was right, but he had to make the whole bloody 600 people chess player room hear it by having a tantrum. He was also complaining to the tournament director about another player he played earlier in the tournament. He lost his argument, and he was carefully watching me, making sure I was properly saying "I adjust" properly. Poor me. Even worse is that the old man randomly told me during the game he had to go take a smoke outside, and i had to wait 45 minutes until his next move (soon after his tirade). I later won our game, and he went on another tantrum, showing it off to the world. One of those games I would like to forget. This happened at the chicago class championships...

  • #258

    LOL. Yeah whenever I go to Vegas there are so many adults that smoke, in fact I saw one of my opponents smoking outside.

  • #259

    What the heck is "properly calling touch move" ? Are you talking about adjusting your pieces? "Touch move" normally refers to a rule that you must move a piece if you touch it with intent to move it.

  • #260

    errr my bad, I meant, "I adjust", i was thinking of touch move for some reason. Let me edit that.

or Join

Online Now