What is the most SURPRISING incident happen with you while playing OTB tourney?

  • #261

    Got them mixed up. lolz, its pretty fuzzy for me atm, luckily i forgot some of this unpleasant experience Laughing. I just remember the kicking (not really), screaming, complaining, tirading, smoking, and winning.

  • #262

    Randomemory

    Sounds like that tournament was really the no-class championship.  Laughing

  • #263

    In a blitz game against a club member, he had two queens, and we were both in major time trouble. He moved his queen, announced "Checkmate!" at first glance I thought it was, but I saw an escape square for my king, and moved there. He then lost on time with a mate in 1 on the board.

    In money situations, I don't feel bad at all about claiming wins on time, even if there was no logical way for me to win with two pawns against his two queens and a few pawns

  • #264
    [COMMENT DELETED]
  • #265

    There's a local chess club not far away from my house. I used to go there a couple of years ago. During that time I had a great teacher - a very strong GM, and I was quite enthusiastic to improve. After a while I participated in a tournament that was held there, one that's happening every now and then. The players all come from the club I believe, and they seem to know each other. I was relatively unknown. But I was also pretty good.

     

    In the first game I played against a good player. However, I played a highly positional game, won a pawn early and gradually improved my position. Eventually I had a tactic to win some more material. We reached a point where he had a queen and I had a queen and a piece and some extra pawns or something. It looked like he should resign at this point. Then, he just moves his queen where it can be captured directly by my queen. And for some reason, I thought that it was like a "sign of resignation", just like dropping your king or something. Silly me.

     

    So I captured the queen expecting him to shake my hand. He didn't react for a second, then looks at me and says "stalemate". I look back at the position. It's stalemate. Later he said that I played a great game and that he's sorry I fell for his trap. I learned my lesson from that game... such a thing will never repeat itself.

     

    I don't remember the exact position but it was a bit like this:



  • #266
    shoopi wrote:

    There's a local chess club not far away from my house. I used to go there a couple of years ago. During that time I had a great teacher - a very strong GM, and I was quite enthusiastic to improve. After a while I participated in a tournament that was held there, one that's happening every now and then. The players all come from the club I believe, and they seem to know each other. I was relatively unknown. But I was also pretty good.

     

    In the first game I played against a good player. However, I played a highly positional game, won a pawn early and gradually improved my position. Eventually I had a tactic to win some more material. We reached a point where he had a queen and I had a queen and a piece and some extra pawns or something. It looked like he should resign at this point. Then, he just moves his queen where it can be captured directly by my queen. And for some reason, I thought that it was like a "sign of resignation", just like dropping your king or something. Silly me.

     

    So I captured the queen expecting him to shake my hand. He didn't react for a second, then looks at me and says "stalemate". I look back at the position. It's stalemate. Later he said that I played a great game and that he's sorry I fell for his trap. I learned my lesson from that game... such a thing will never repeat itself.

     

    I don't remember the exact position but it was a bit like this:

     



    I agree with the underlying theme that your most painful results define the chess player you become. 

  • #267

    True. By the way after that first round I had many wins but at the end I only came second.

  • #268

    Wow that must have hurt. e7 instead looks completely winning

  • #269

    Yeah this isn't the same position (I don't remember exactly), but i clearly had other winning moves.

  • #270

    I distinctly remember my shortest OTB game ever. 6 moves. I'd been playing the Caro-Kann for about a year or so at this point, and for some reason had not run into this trap before:

    My opponenet didn't say anything as he played the move, just waited for m to come to the realization myself, and then stopped the clock. I sat there staring at the position in disbelief. A man in the game next to me leaned over and said, "If it makes you feel any better, I once saw a master lose in that exact same way." Thanks, but it doesn't.

  • #271

    yeah it's a pretty well known trap.

    Everyone thought I knew THIS trap when I was 1200 and I played an unrated game against a 600:

    And I've SEEN people fall for this when I TD 1100-1200 kid's games.

  • #272
    BetweenTheWheels wrote:

     

    My opponenet didn't say anything as he played the move, just waited for m to come to the realization myself, and then stopped the clock. I sat there staring at the position in disbelief. A man in the game next to me leaned over and said, "If it makes you feel any better, I once saw a master lose in that exact same way." Thanks, but it doesn't.

    When I started playing the CK, I also fell for the exact same line in an online blitz game. Naturally my opponent refused a rematch, even though we'd only played for 10 seconds. Never again did I fall for that.

  • #273

    Lol it is so interesting that I just found this thread, this just happened to me two days ago:

    I was playing in the last round of a team tournament, and was pretty happy since I had won all of the previous three. I was, however, playing somebody rated almost 400 USCF higher than myself but it was a pretty even game. She skewered my queen on my rook with her bishop, but I saw the way out of it, taking her queen with mine, so that when she retook I would move my rook. However, right as she recaptured my queen, the fire alarm went off! I never learned why but since there was no fire and this was a scholastic tournament I assume that someone did it as a joke. Anyway, the TDs handled it well, telling us to stop our clocks and go outside. When I came back to move, I forgot that my rook was under attack so I moved a different piece! Obviously, she took the rook and won the game.

  • #274

    nate23 wrote:

    My opponent had a passed pawn, I went to capture it with my knight, but accidentally used his knight instead!

    My dad does this all the time, don't know why, he is a great chess player but just forgets what side he's playing on!

  • #275

    Also, many people have talked about what to do if your opponent forgets to push his clock. I tell them immeaditly unless they are in time trouble or have forgotten multiple times. However, my good friend and teammate simply decides his next move, moves it, then pushes his opponent's clock then his own. Really, Sean!

  • #276
    FakeName6 wrote:

    Also, many people have talked about what to do if your opponent forgets to push his clock. I tell them immeaditly unless they are in time trouble or have forgotten multiple times. However, my good friend and teammate simply decides his next move, moves it, then pushes his opponent's clock then his own. Really, Sean!

    Haha, reminds me of a situation that occurs sometimes when 2 boards are next to each other, and a player presses the wrong clock. One time my opponent did this and the guys on the other board got so angry!

  • #277
    UltraLaser wrote:
    FakeName6 wrote:

    Also, many people have talked about what to do if your opponent forgets to push his clock. I tell them immeaditly unless they are in time trouble or have forgotten multiple times. However, my good friend and teammate simply decides his next move, moves it, then pushes his opponent's clock then his own. Really, Sean!

    Haha, reminds me of a situation that occurs sometimes when 2 boards are next to each other, and a player presses the wrong clock. One time my opponent did this and the guys on the other board got so angry!

    haha, that happend to me a buch of times, where my opponent pressed the wrong clock, and the player on the other board always noticed but he didn't realize that my opponent had pressed it and the games were with increment so when the game on the other board finished, they had 1/2 more than they had started with Tongue Out

  • #278
    BetweenTheWheels wrote:

    I distinctly remember my shortest OTB game ever. 6 moves. I'd been playing the Caro-Kann for about a year or so at this point, and for some reason had not run into this trap before:

     

    My opponenet didn't say anything as he played the move, just waited for m to come to the realization myself, and then stopped the clock. I sat there staring at the position in disbelief. A man in the game next to me leaned over and said, "If it makes you feel any better, I once saw a master lose in that exact same way." Thanks, but it doesn't.

    "Qe2 - dubious move"

    How dubious is it really? It only blocks the bishop if you're planning to develop the bishop on that diagonal

  • #279

    Oh, here's another:

    In my first tournament (third grade) my opponent moved his queen and declared "checkmate!" I am like, aw, man, I lost, and shook hands. The TD, who was watching this game, tells me that it wasn't mate and I could have taken his queen. However I agreed to it so it was a loss for me.

  • #280

    FakeName6 wrote:

    Oh, here's another:

    In my first tournament (third grade) my opponent moved his queen and declared "checkmate!" I am like, aw, man, I lost, and shook hands. The TD, who was watching this game, tells me that it wasn't mate and I could have taken his queen. However I agreed to it so it was a loss for me.

    Oh, yeah, and part two: In a team tournament just this month, my teammate declares checkmate even though its not. They shook hands on it and were about to reset the board when I, who was still sitting there since I was the team captain, pointed out that its not, but since they shook it counts. My teammate's opponent calls the TD over. I knew the TD would rule in our favor, but when he came over my teammate said never mind and undid his last move. I tried to jump in but the TD shushed me. They ended up playing out the game to a draw.

or Join

Online Now