What is the most SURPRISING incident happen with you while playing OTB tourney?


  • 3 years ago · Quote · #81

    whirlwind2011

    @anpu3: I think you and the TD did well.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #82

    david_plays_chess

    Vishal_Gupta wrote:

    When I went to play my first tournament when I was 12yrs old. In my first game my opponent made a illegal move that exposed his king to check, I did not realise that and the game continued for 4 more moves till I realised it and we took all our 4 moves back and the guy agreed to it.

    Man, how often would you get a break like that. It's a very nice thing to do for a 12 year old. Did you win the game?

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #83

    anpu3

    Thanks for your agreement.  I wanted to do the right thing but as I said the fallout still lingers.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #84

    DarkHorseGambit

    Last season in a league match i forked a guys queen and king with my night, he immediatly said i didnt see that can i take it back?? funny as it gets for me sorry

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #85

    BorgQueen

    Yeah, I would have let that go too... so what... I have played a game at my club where we played two moves and offered/agreed to a draw on the last round, because we were both wanting to play blitz instead of a longer game.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #87

    whirlwind2011

    Shadowknight911 wrote:

    there is nothing illegal (i.e. in the USCF or FIDE rulebooks) about pre-arranged draws, so the TD was wrong to proceed down that path.  Unethical, you can make a good argument for in some situations, but not illegal.  ...

    While some may be unconvinced, FIDE Article 12.1: "The players shall take no action that will bring the game of chess into disrepute," and Article 12.6: "It is forbidden to ... annoy the opponent in any manner whatsoever. This includes ... unreasonable offers of a draw ..." could be understood as rendering collusion illegal. In the latter case, though the opponent would not be annoyed, the tournament director could be. And if a TD can deny any person entry into an event on any basis, can he/she not also eject a competitor from an event on any basis?

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #88

    fdar

    12.6 clearly does not apply, since neither player was annoyed.

    12.1 is extremely vague, I guess it could be read as banning anything you happen not to like.

    Being able to deny entry for any reason is not the same that being able to eject a player for any reason, specially if an EF has been paid and not refunded. And it definitely doesn't mean a TD can force a player to forfeit a game for any reason...

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #89

    MrBoB1

    Nothing surprising has happened at any otb tourney I've ever been to, but I enjoy reading about this kind of stuff so keep it coming.

    I'm going to an otb tourney in March so maybe I'll have a story of my own to share, but you never know.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #90

    breakerofwind

    My club is very strict about not talking while games are in progress.  One night, the guy who makes the coffee had a late start.  About ten minutes into the tournament, he announced that the coffee was ready.  Six players immediately yelled "SHHHH!"  The look on his face was priceless, he was so stunned.  Then everyone laughed, got some coffee, and continued their games.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #91

    bigpoison

    anpu3 wrote:

    Here's a little tale with the moral being... know when to keep my mouth shut.

    About 16 years ago our small local club hosted a weekend tournament.  Only 20 or so in attendance and all were familiar with one another.  The TD was a friend of mine.  The other key characters I will call Frog and Toad for the sake of anonymity.

    Going into the last round, Frog & Toad see they are paired together.  Being close friends they say in the presence of myself & others that they will quickly agree to a draw and proceed to the nearest exotic dancing girl bar. (I'm paraphrasing for PG purposes here).

    Well, pre-arranged draws are one thing but this was pretty blatant.  So, I told my TD friend.  He then confronted Frog about it and to say the least; harsh words led to the TD chasing Frog into the parking lot.  We onlookers thought for a moment they might come to blows.  Frog & Toad both got a foreit which was backed up by the USCF despite their(mostly Frog's)  protest.

    Flash forward a few months.  Now Frog is hosting a tourney and denies my TD friend entry based on the rule that the TD has the right to deny entry to anyone he chooses.

    Talk about "bad blood"!  To this day these guys still hold a grudge.

    And all because I opened my well intentioned big mouth.  I wish I could take it back now because it caused more trouble than it was worth.

    Opinions?   What would you have done?

    I agree:  never miss a chance to keep your mouth shut.

    What exactly were your intentions?  What did you intend to accomplish?

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #92

    syafiqazizi

    surprising incident. earthquake!

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #93

    Abhishek2

    Well..once in a national tournament I blundered a piece on move 8. However, somehow he managed to LOSE that game to fall to a mate attack.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #94

    NimzoRoy

    syafiqazizi wrote:

    surprising incident. earthquake!

    Fischer was at a tnmt (in South America I think) interupted by an earthquake in the middle of a rd. Just about everyone else fled the tnmt hall but not Bobby, who remained seated at his bd concentrating on the game. His opponent then requested the TD re-start Bobby's clock, which he did.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #95

    Abhishek2

    Finally! Got one.

    In my recent Thanksgiving tournament, players of all ages, even puny ones,were in it. I was in the Open Section playing my last round. In the middle we all (a small cozy room) heard someone SINGING AN OPERA (or just screechy notes). There was a big crowd so despite trying to catch the singer, it was hard. Believe me, it was hilarious. Eventually the singing came closer and I eventually found out "the singer".

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #96

    Abhishek2

    Got another!

    In another tournament there was this person, who dozed off during the tournament. His snoring was loud,and everyone in the room was laughing...even his opponent. Eventually after sleeping for 15 min he was "energized" but still drew.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #98

    Abhishek2

    Not really Thanksgiving, just around that time.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #99

    UltraLaser

    Abhishek2 wrote:

    Finally! Got one.

    In my recent Thanksgiving tournament, players of all ages, even puny ones,were in it. I was in the Open Section playing my last round. In the middle we all (a small cozy room) heard someone SINGING AN OPERA (or just screechy notes). There was a big crowd so despite trying to catch the singer, it was hard. Believe me, it was hilarious. Eventually the singing came closer and I eventually found out "the singer".

    Sorry, but this just seems totally non-believable :P


Back to Top

Post your reply: