draw by perpetual check

  • #1
    [COMMENT DELETED]
  • #2

    Technically, there is no "draw by perpetual check" rule in chess.

     

    Practically, if the check really is perpetual, then eventually there will be a three-fold repetition of the position or 50 irreversible moves, and you can claim a draw.

  • #3
    [COMMENT DELETED]
  • #4

    threefold repetition means the POSITION has been repeated (exactly) three times.  If you look, there 'offer draw' button will have changed to a 'claim draw' button.

  • #5
    KyleMayhugh wrote:

    Technically, there is no "draw by perpetual check" rule in chess.

     

    Practically, if the check really is perpetual, then eventually there will be a three-fold repetition of the position or 50 irreversible moves, and you can claim a draw. 


    Shouldn't that be 50 reversible moves, because in most cases of threefold repetition, the moves essentially "undo" themselves? Pawn moves cannot give rise to position repetition, so they are truly irreversible.

  • #6

    @KyleMayhugh: Boo. I meant to say 50-move rule, not threefold repetition. Sorry.

Top
or Join

Online Now