Moving into check

Sort:
Avatar of troycosby

Can the black King take the white Queen, moving into check by the white Rook, because the white rook couldn't take the black King, due to that exposing the white King to check from the black queen.  Argument, if the black King takes the white King, then the white rook should be able to take the black King, ending the game, and therefore not exposing the white King to check, because the game is over.  Other argument, the Black King even though exposing itself to the Rook is safe, because the white rook can't move being pinned by the black queen.  On my example the words White to move are on the bottom of the diagram, I don't know how to change that to black to move.  It is blacks turn.

Avatar of nsromaine

BUT AM I REALLY IN CHECK IF THE CASTLE CAN'T MOVE?

Avatar of condude2

Whoever loses the king first loses. Period. Black would lose the king one move earlier, therefore he loses.

Avatar of omnipaul

The only reason the rook can't move is because of the rule about not moving into check.  If you remove that rule to let the black king take the white queen, then the black king dies first when the rook moves to take it.  Leaving the rule means that black can't take the queen.  Either way, black loses.

Avatar of blueemu

Try this one:

Black played 1. ... Bb7+ and announced mate in two.

White gave him a funny look and replied with 2. e4 checkmate.

Black insisted "No, that isn't checkmate... I just take your Pawn en-passent, and it's White that's in checkmate, not Black".

White pointed out that Black cannot play fxe3 e.p. while he is in check by White's Bishop.

Black claimed "But your e-Pawn never reached the e4 square... it was captured en-passent on e3. So it never blocked my original check. You lose".

Call the Tournament Director. What does he say?

Avatar of thomas_loiselle

Ahah that's funny!

I think white wins. Because even if the pawn is supposed to be taken-en-passant, in the rules, it still requires black to play fxe3 while in check which he can't.

Avatar of blueemu
thomas_loiselle wrote:

Ahah that's funny!

I think white wins. Because even if the pawn is supposed to be taken-en-passant, in the rules, it still requires black to play fxe3 while in check which he can't.

Correct. According to FIDE rules, "A move is completed when the player's hand releases the piece on its destination square"... it says nothing about waiting to see if the opponent takes it en-passent.

So the White Pawn did arrive on e4 to block the check.