same thing happened to me....
threefold repetition

Hi, in one of my online chess games of this site the same position came up three times but the game did not draw, i was wandering if i´m not understanding this rule right?
A player declares a draw if the same exact position is repeated three times (though not necessarily three times in a row)By the rules of chess, which you have quoted, nobody tells you. You have to know when to claim.
Click on the draw button. If valid, then it is a draw.



Hi, in one of my online chess games of this site the same position came up three times but the game did not draw, i was wandering if i´m not understanding this rule right?
A player declares a draw if the same exact position is repeated three times (though not necessarily three times in a row)By the rules of chess, which you have quoted, nobody tells you. You have to know when to claim.
Click on the draw button. If valid, then it is a draw.
Ok thank you, i actually tried the draw button, but i did it after another move was made:/

haha Dabbi

http://www.chess.com/livechess/game.html?id=158247508
See moves 55, 59, and 61.
I declared a draw and hit the "draw" button repeatedly before and after making move 61. (I was white)
Is there any way I can make an appeal?

61.Ke4 was indeed a third repetition (FEN=8/3n4/3P1k2/p1p2P1p/P3K2P/1P6/8/8 b - - 0). Immediately after playing that the condition for draw by repetition was satisfied and the draw button should have changed to "claim draw" at which point either player could click on the button to claim the draw. The draw can only be claimed while the repeated position is current. My guess is that your opponent managed to make his move 61...Ne5 (maybe it was already entered as a premove) before you managed to click on the draw button. If he did, the draw could no longer be claimed.
This is a drawback of how live online chess has to be played. In an over the board game you would call the tournament director over to your board before you made move 61 and inform him of your intent to make the move and claim the draw, thus your opponent wouldn't have a chance to make his move immediately and invalidate the draw condition.
Hi, in one of my online chess games of this site the same position came up three times but the game did not draw, i was wandering if i´m not understanding this rule right?