Why wasn't this a draw via threefold repetition?

Sort:
Avatar of leoultimater

This was a 30|0 game. Why wasn't this a draw via threefold repetition?
http://www.chess.com/livechess/game?id=538422350

 

Avatar of trysts

You have to hit the draw button to get a draw;)

Avatar of leoultimater

Can't they decline? Or is it forced upon request if threefold repetition occurs?

Avatar of ramses9721
[COMMENT DELETED]
Avatar of ramses9721
[COMMENT DELETED]
Avatar of Apoapsis

You can claim a draw after three repetitions by hitting the draw button. Threefold repetition draws are NOT automatic.

Avatar of TheGrobe
leoultimater wrote:

Can't they decline? Or is it forced upon request if threefold repetition occurs?

Once the conditions are present to claim a draw (threefold and 50 moves without a capture or pawn move), it's no longer an offer that can be declined -- the draw button simply ends the game as a draw.

Avatar of ramses9721
[COMMENT DELETED]
Avatar of trysts

I think you need to read the rules, ramses9721Laughing

Avatar of TheGrobe
ramses9721 wrote:

my bad i thought u were the black pieces well ok then its checkmate still the 3 fold draw only applies when the king cant defend and is stuck on one square

Huh?

Avatar of leoultimater
ramses9721 wrote:

because the pawns were still movable 3 fold repetition doesnt count till its just the king then its draw the idea is that people could get out of checkmate if 3 fold counted at any point in the game but it only counts after the king doesnt have anything to defend itsself with

This isn't any standard chess rule I'm familiar with.

Avatar of chessfa1
ramses9721 wrote:

because the pawns were still movable 3 fold repetition doesnt count till its just the king then its draw the idea is that people could get out of checkmate if 3 fold counted at any point in the game but it only counts after the king doesnt have anything to defend itsself with

Sorry, but thats not true. 3 fold repetition is getting the exact same pieces on the exact same square for three turns. You could literally have a 3 fold repetition on the fourth turn. I think you are getting mixed up with the 50 move draw but even then you can have pawns that can move but haven't yet. TheGrobe is right, and did a great job of explaining it.

Avatar of goldendog
ramses9721 wrote:

my bad i thought u were the black pieces well ok then its checkmate still the 3 fold draw only applies when the king cant defend and is stuck on one square

Plus, Royal Fizzbin on a Tuesday.

Avatar of TheGrobe
goldendog wrote:
ramses9721 wrote:

my bad i thought u were the black pieces well ok then its checkmate still the 3 fold draw only applies when the king cant defend and is stuck on one square

Plus, Royal Fizzbin on a Tuesday.

Unless you've got a younger brother who is going out this weekend as the guest of another boy, in which case collect his note before lunch, put it in your letter after you've had your hair cut, and make sure he moves your clothes down onto the lower peg for you.

Avatar of ramses9721
[COMMENT DELETED]
Avatar of Casual_Joe
ramses9721 wrote:

my point was that if i understand this right the 3 move rep has to be 3 squares open in a repetitive circle this still showes 1 pawn able to move to attack or up the king can move back and the board can still open up for a sacrfice so it is just black queen/rook to whites king

You don't understand the rule.  Anytime the same position appears three times on the board, either side can claim a draw.  I don't even understand what situation you're trying to describe, but it has no relevance to the draw by repetition rule.

Avatar of ramses9721

the fact that the king isnt cornered into check

Avatar of ramses9721
[COMMENT DELETED]
Avatar of binblaster
ramses9721 wrote:

my point was that if i understand this right the 3 move rep has to be 3 squares open in a repetitive circle this still showes 1 pawn able to move to attack or up the king can move back and the board can still open up for a sacrfice so it is just black queen/rook to whites king

You don't understand the rule. If a position appears 3 times in a game then a draw can be claimed because neither side is making progress. It has nothing to do with what you just stated.

Avatar of trysts
ramses9721 wrote:

in any draw the king has to be cornered to not be able to move into check and if the king is stuck in a repetitive pattern by 3 pieces then that is 3 fold draw the king has 1 move a dthe one pawn has 1 move if u move the king then the other pawn is free to move

Hilarious!Laughing