You're right; she's wrong. The K simply can't put himself in check.
EDIT: Don't be too hard on her though. I've seen way too many of these posts over the last few years.
You're right; she's wrong. The K simply can't put himself in check.
EDIT: Don't be too hard on her though. I've seen way too many of these posts over the last few years.
FIDE Handbook - Laws of Chess
Article 3: The moves of the pieces |
|
3.9 |
The king is said to be 'in check' if it is attacked by one or more of the opponent's pieces, even if such pieces are constrained from moving to the square occupied by the king because they would then leave or place their own king in check. No piece can be moved that will either expose the king of the same colour to check or leave that king in check. |
Totally illegal move. You cannot put yourself in check. Assuming that if you were allowed to do that and the opponent just captures your king, the immediate capture of white's king would end the game with black winning.
No piece can be moved that will either expose the king of the same colour to check |
Therefore, since the King taking rook move would expose the king to check under article 3.9:
The king is said to be 'in check' if it is attacked by one or more of the opponent's pieces, even if such pieces are constrained from moving to the square occupied by the king because they would then leave or place their own king in check.
The king would be attacked as stated under article 3.1
3.1 |
It is not permitted to move a piece to a square occupied by a piece of the same colour. If a piece moves to a square occupied by an opponent’s piece the latter is captured and removed from the chessboard as part of the same move. A piece is said to attack an opponent’s piece if the piece could make a capture on that square according to Articles 3.2 to 3.8. A piece is considered to attack a square even if this piece is constrained from moving to that square because it would then leave or place the king of its own colour under attack. Thus, the move is illegal. The FIDE handbook is located here: |
Read the quote from the FIDE handbook. It says the king can't move to somewhere where it's being ATTACKED by a piece. KxR means that the king is being ATTACKED by the bishop, and therefor illegal.
Thank you everyone. Very helpful. Plus I was correct - which is always encouraging. Unfortunately, now to deal with the fallout - which is that the girl went on to win the tournament game - and the matter was only drawn to my attention after the game ended. So now I need to decide who wins, whether to call it a draw, make them rematch or what! Arghh! I'll probably ask the boy what he thinks is fairest.
Read the quote from the FIDE handbook. It says the king can't move to somewhere where it's being ATTACKED by a piece. KxR means that the king is being ATTACKED by the bishop, and therefor illegal.
^^
The following rules apply for illegal moves outside of rapidplay:
Appendix A. Rapidplay |
|
A.1 |
A ‘Rapidplay’ game is one where either all the moves must be completed in a fixed time of more than 10 minutes but less than 60 minutes for each player; or the time allotted plus 60 times any increment is of more than 10 minutes but less than 60 minutes for each player. |
Article 7: Irregularities |
|||||||||||||
7.1 |
If an irregularity occurs and the pieces have to be restored to a previous position, the arbiter shall use his best judgement to determine the times to be shown on the chessclock. This includes the right not to change the clock times. He shall also, if necessary, adjust the clock’s move-counter. |
||||||||||||
7.2 |
|
||||||||||||
7.3 |
If a game has begun with colours reversed then it shall continue, unless the arbiter rules otherwise. |
||||||||||||
7.4 |
If a player displaces one or more pieces, he shall re-establish the correct position in his own time. If necessary, either the player or his opponent shall stop the chessclock and ask for the arbiter’s assistance. The arbiter may penalise the player who displaced the pieces. |
||||||||||||
7.5 |
The following rules apply for illegal moves in rapidplay:
|
8/8/2Rbk3/2r5/1K6/8/8/8 w - - 0 18/8/2Rbk3/2r5/1K6/8/8/8 w - -0 1
Feeling a bit frustrated - give me a few seconds to phrase the question
OK so I know a little bit about Chess, but today I came across a situation I had never come accross before.
I play chess a bit, and enjoy playing here, but I also run a chess club in my school. However, I have 2 girls who are supposed to be very good - and who receive lessons from a master.
Today the one girl did a move which I don't believe was allowed but she claimed was an "absolute pin". Now my understanding of an absolute pin, is that it is just a piece which is pinned as the king is behind it.
So the situation shown below is a simplified version of the problem. White to move.
Her move, take the rook with the white king - she claimed the absolute pin means that she was not putting herself in check.
I had never heard of such a thing. I believe she was misguided, but if she is genuinely being taught by a grand master then she may know something I don't.
My logic is that putting yourself in check is the greater crime thus not allowed.
Can someone with more knowledge than me please comment.