2013 Tata Steel Lineup Announced

2013 Tata Steel Lineup Announced

| 36 | Chess Event Coverage

tata_logo.jpgThe organisers of the annual Tata Steel chess festival in Wijk Aan Zee have today announced the confirmed line-ups for the A and B Groups at the 75th edition to be held from 11-27 January 2013.

Despite the difficult economic environment, the A Group once again has an excellent mix of players and promises to be a great tournament.

World #1 Magnus Carlsen will be in Wijk for the 10th year in succession, and last year's winner world #2 Lev Aronian will be defending his title.

Red hot star Fabiano Caruana is next in ranking order, followed by world champion Vishy Anand. The 2011 winner Hikaru Nakamura will be flying the flag for the USA, while four local players will hope to make a good impression on the tournament, headed by Anish Giri.

2009 winner Sergey Karjakin will be in the mix again, while Pentala Harikrishna qualifies as last year's B Group winner.

Perhaps most eye-catching of all is the inclusion of women's world champion Hou Yifan in what will be her first Grand Slam tournament with the world's elite (male) players.

The A Group

Name Nat Elo Rank
Carlsen, Magnus NOR 2848 1
Aronian, Levon ARM 2815 2
Caruana, Fabiano ITA 2786 5
Anand, Viswanathan IND 2775 6
Karjakin, Sergey RUS 2775 7
Nakamura, Hikaru USA 2755 12
Wang, Hao CHN 2737 19
Leko, Peter HUN 2732 22
Giri, Anish NED 2715 28
Harikrishna, Pentala IND 2692 59
van Wely, Loek NED 2691 61
Sokolov, Ivan NED 2677 77
L'Ami, Erwin NED 2629 134
Hou, Yifan CHN 2606 203

The B Group is an interesting mix of youth and experience. The three top finishers from this year's Junior World Championship, Alexander Ipatov, Richard Rapport and Nils Grandelius will be playing, as will 16-year old Russian star Daniil Dubov

The more experienced members of the B Group will include former winners Predrag Nikolic and Jan Timman.  The C Group line-up will be announced nearer to the event.

The B Group

Name Nat Elo
Naiditsch, Arkadij GER 2708
Edouard, Romain FRA 2688
Movsesian, Sergei ARM 2688
Ni, Hua CHN 2681
Tiviakov, Sergey NED 2659
Nikolic, Predrag BIH 2650
Turov, Maxim RUS 2630
Rapport, Richard HUN 2621
Smeets, Jan NED 2615
Dubov, Daniil RUS 2600
Grandelius, Nils SWE 2593
Ipatov, Alexander TUR 2593
Timman, Jan NED 2579
van Kampen, Robin NED 2574


Who will you be cheering for in 2013 in Wijk Aan Zee?

More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix