Arena Kings Season 6 Takes Off January 11

Arena Kings Season 6 Takes Off January 11

PeterDoggers
PeterDoggers
|
70 | Chess.com News

With the first month of the new year, Chess.com is bringing back an event that proved both fan and streamer favorite: Arena Kings! The sixth season of the Arena Kings chess tournament series will start on January 11, 2021 and will feature a total prize fund of $20,000.

The four-month tournament series will allow both super-grandmasters and casual players to earn cash prizes. As in earlier seasons, Monday and Friday will remain the regular Arena Kings days.

Once again there will be four designated days where Fischer Random (Chess960) will be played and also four Royal Arena Kings with elevated prizes.

All Chess.com members are eligible for prizes. While players must stream their games in order to earn cash, streamers do not have to be members of the Chess.com Streamer's Program to be eligible to win.

arena-kings-season-6-format
Arena Kings Season 6 Format

The tournaments start on Mondays at 5 p.m. Pacific (2 a.m. CET early Tuesday) and on Fridays at 12 p.m. Pacific. (21:00 CET). There is a live broadcast on Twitch.tv/chess.

Regular Arena Kings will have a $700 prize fund each while the Royal Arena Kings will have an increased fund of $1,500. All players must stream their games and identify themselves to earn cash prizes.

The series runs until April 2, 2021. Below is the schedule for January. More information on season 6 can be found here.

arena-kings-season-6-january-schedule
Arena Kings Season 6 Schedule for January
More from PeterDoggers
Tata Steel Chess Tournament: Carlsen, Giri, Grandelius Winners In Opening Round

Tata Steel Chess Tournament: Carlsen, Giri, Grandelius Winners In Opening Round

Carlsen Heads Field As Pandemic-Defying Tata Steel Chess Starts Tomorrow

Carlsen Heads Field As Pandemic-Defying Tata Steel Chess Starts Tomorrow