Chess World Cup 2009

Chess World Cup 2009

Nov 20, 2009, 11:22 AM |
35 | Chess Event Coverage

The Chess World Cup gets underway on the 21 November in Khanty Mansiysk, Russia.

In recent years, the Chess World Cup has become a regular qualifying event in the WCC cycle, even though the cycle itself has frequently changed, sometimes while still ongoing

The last World Cup in 2007 was won by Gata Kamsky, thereby earning him his ill-fated match with Topalov earlier this year.

As things currently stand, the winner of the 2009 World Cup will gain entry to the 8-player Candidates tournament that will decide a challenger for the winner of the Anand v Topalov WCC title match in April next year.

The other players in the candidates tournament will be:

The 1st (Aronian) and 2nd (currently Radjabov) finishers in the Grand Prix
The loser of the WCC match between Anand and Topalov
The 2 highest rated players not otherwise qualified (currently Carlsen and Kramnik)
The loser of the 2009 challenger match (Kamsky)
A wild-card nominated by the organisers (must be 2700 Elo+)

The Arts Centre venue for the 2009 World Cup (picture from the official website)

The event follows the KO format used by the FIDE World Championships in the late 90's/early 00's.  128 players are paired in 2-game mini-matches, with the winner progressing to the next round of 64, and so on until a 4-game final.  Any tied matches are settled by rapid games, and if necessary, blitz games followed by an Armageddon game. 

The 127 players who don't qualify for the candidates can console themselves with some respectable prize-money (figures shown include FIDE's 20% cut):

Round 1 losers: $6,000
Round 2 losers: $10,000
Round 3 losers: $16,000
Round 4 losers: $25,000
Round 5 losers: $35,000
Round 6 losers: $50,000
Runner-up: $80,000
Winner: $120,000

Games start at 3pm local time, with the time control being a fairly brisk 90 minutes for 40 moves, followed by 30 minutes to finish, with a 30 second increment from the start.

Top seed is Boris Gelfand, and the full draw is below.  Further details at the official site here.

Seed Name Nat

Seed Name  Nat
1 Gelfand, Boris  ISR  v 128 Obodchuk, Andrei  RUS
2 Gashimov, Vugar  AZE  v 127 Sarwat, Walaa  EGY
3 Svidler, Peter  RUS  v 126 Hebert, Jean  CAN
4 Morozevich, Alexander  RUS  v 125 Abdel Razik, Khaled  EGY
5 Radjabov, Teimour  AZE  v 124 Ezat, Mohamed  EGY
6 Ivanchuk, Vassily  UKR  v 123 Bezgodov, Alexei  RUS
7 Ponomariov, Ruslan  UKR  v 122 El Gindy, Essam  EGY
8 Grischuk, Alexander  RUS  v 121 Sriram, Jha  IND
9 Jakovenko, Dmitry  RUS  v 120 Rizouk, Aimen  ALG
10 Wang, Yue  CHN  v 119 Kabanov, Nikolai  RUS
11 Eljanov, Pavel  UKR  v 118 Al Sayed, Mohamad N.  QAT
12 Karjakin, Sergey  UKR  v 117 Rodriguez Vila, Andres  URU
13 Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar  AZE  v 116 Kosteniuk, Alexandra  RUS
14 Shirov, Alexei  ESP  v 115 Kunte, Abhijit  IND
15 Dominguez Perez, Leinier  CUB  v 114 Smerdon, David  AUS
16 Movsesian, Sergei  SVK  v 113 Yu, Yangyi  CHN
17 Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime  FRA  v 112 Yu, Shaoteng  CHN
18 Alekseev, Evgeny  RUS  v 111 Pridorozhni, Aleksei  RUS
19 Tomashevsky, Evgeny  RUS  v 110 Ivanov, Alexander  USA
20 Wang, Hao  CHN  v 109 Friedel, Joshua E  USA
21 Navara, David  CZE  v 108 Laylo, Darwin  PHI
22 Malakhov, Vladimir  RUS  v 107 Amin, Bassem  EGY
23 Bacrot, Etienne  FRA  v 106 Nijboer, Friso  NED
24 Rublevsky, Sergei  RUS  v 105 Morovic Fernandez, Ivan  CHI
25 Jobava, Baadur  GEO  v 104 Robson, Ray  USA
26 Motylev, Alexander  RUS  v 103 Hess, Robert L  USA
27 Kamsky, Gata  USA  v 102 Antonio, Rogelio Jr  PHI
28 Vitiugov, Nikita  RUS  v 101 Gupta, Abhijeet  IND
29 Bologan, Viktor  MDA  v 100 Adly, Ahmed  EGY
30 Naiditsch, Arkadij  GER  v 99 Hou, Yifan  CHN
31 Bu, Xiangzhi  CHN  v 98 Pelletier, Yannick  SUI
32 Polgar, Judit  HUN  v 97 Pavasovic, Dusko  SLO
33 Nisipeanu, Liviu-Dieter  ROU  v 96 Lupulescu, Constantin  ROU
34 Sargissian, Gabriel  ARM  v 95 Li, Chao b  CHN
35 Onischuk, Alexander  USA  v 94 Flores, Diego  ARG
36 Cheparinov, Ivan  BUL  v 93 Kryvoruchko, Yuriy  UKR
37 Efimenko, Zahar  UKR  v 92 Milos, Gilberto  BRA
38 Sutovsky, Emil  ISR  v 91 Zhou, Weiqi  CHN
39 Najer, Evgeniy  RUS  v 90 Ghaem Maghami, Ehsan  IRI
40 Tiviakov, Sergei  NED  v 89 Iturrizaga, Eduardo  VEN
41 Areshchenko, Alexander  UKR  v 88 Corrales Jimenez, Fidel  CUB
42 Sasikiran, Krishnan  IND  v 87 L'Ami, Erwin  NED
43 Smirin, Ilia  ISR  v 86 Ehlvest, Jaan  USA
44 Baklan, Vladimir  UKR  v 85 Shabalov, Alexander  USA
45 Ganguly, Surya Shekhar  IND  v 84 Filippov, Anton  UZB
46 Fier, Alexandr  BRA  v 83 Khalifman, Alexander  RUS
47 Fressinet, Laurent  FRA  v 82 Sjugirov, Sanan  RUS
48 Meier, Georg  GER  v 81 Petrosian, Tigran L.  ARM
49 Grachev, Boris  RUS  v 80 Bartel, Mateusz  POL
50 Caruana, Fabiano  ITA  v 79 Bruzon Batista, Lazaro  CUB
51 Sokolov, Ivan  NED  v 78 Fedorchuk, Sergey A.  UKR
52 Milov, Vadim  SUI  v 77 Negi, Parimarjan  IND
53 Timofeev, Artyom  RUS  v 76 Leitao, Rafael  BRA
54 Inarkiev, Ernesto  RUS  v 75 Gustafsson, Jan  GER
55 Savchenko, Boris  RUS  v 74 Shulman, Yuri  USA
56 Kobalia, Mikhail  RUS  v 73 Sandipan, Chanda  IND
57 Tkachiev, Vladislav  FRA  v 72 Le, Quang Liem  VIE
58 Tregubov, Pavel V.  RUS  v 71 Akobian, Varuzhan  USA
59 So, Wesley  PHI  v 70 Guseinov, Gadir  AZE
60 Granda Zuniga, Julio E  PER  v 69 Sakaev, Konstantin  RUS
61 Laznicka, Viktor  CZE  v 68 Papaioannou, Ioannis  GRE
62 Andreikin, Dmitry  RUS  v 67 Nyback, Tomi  FIN
63 Mamedov, Rauf  AZE  v 66 Zhou, Jianchao  CHN
64 Amonatov, Farrukh  TJK  v 65 Volkov, Sergey  RUS
More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix