Nakamura Wins 14th Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix

Nakamura Wins 14th Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix

| 15 | News

GM Hikaru Nakamura won the 14th Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix, his third since the start of the series. The American grandmaster beat Ukrainian GM Vladimir Onischuk 2-1 in the knockout final and is the new leader in the overall Grand Prix standings.

The next Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix will be played on September 8 at 10 a.m. Pacific / 19:00 Central Europe.

The 14th Speed Chess Grand Prix tournament was held on Tuesday, September 1, with 782 participants. It was Onischuk who won the Swiss part as the only player to finish on 9/10.

The live broadcast of the tournament.

Onischuk played the ultimate (but unintended!) Swiss Gambit as he started with a loss in the very first round to his compatriot GM Evgeny Sharapov. The only way to get to 9/10 after that is to win nine games in a row, and that's what Onischuk did.

So, what happened in that first round? Well, it looks like he premoved his 42nd move, expecting Black to move with his king:

In the 10th and final round, Onischuk showed some textbook rook endgame technique in a standard position with one extra passed pawn on the seventh rank. It's not winning if White also has a passed pawn on the h- or g-file, but it is when he can create it on the f-file.

Vladimir Onischuk
Vladimir Onischuk in 2016. Photo: Peter Doggers/

Meanwhile, Nakamura drew two games and won eight, including the following game against Alireza Firouzja. The Iranian player did make it to the final eight this time.

The players who qualified for the knockout together with Nakamura, Firouzja, and Onischuk were GMs Boris Grachev, Kirill Alekseenko, Yuriy Kuzubov, and Mikhail Demidov and IM Praveen Balakrishnan.

September 1 Speed Chess Grand Prix | Swiss Final Standings (Top 20)

Rk Fed Title Username Name Score SB
1 GM @Onischuk_V Vladimir Onischuk 9 54
2 GM @Guenplen Boris Grachev 8.5 58
3 GM @BilodeauA Kirill Alekseenko 8.5 55.25
4 GM @KuzubovYuriy Yuriy Kuzubov 8.5 51.25
5 GM @Firouzja2003 Alireza Firouzja 8.5 51
6 GM @Hikaru Hikaru Nakamura 8.5 49.75
7 GM @kuli4ik Mikhail Demidov 8.5 47.75
8 IM @praveenb2002 Praveen Balakrishnan 8.5 47.25
9 GM @ArjunErigaisi2003 Arjun Erigaisi 8.5 46.25
10 GM @Beca95 Aleksandar Indjic 8 56.5
11 IM @wonderfultime Tuan Minh Le 8 50
12 GM @vugarrasulov Vugar Rasulov 8 47.75
13 GM @GM_Levan_Pantsulaia Levan Pantsulaia 8 47.5
14 GM @GOGIEFF Anton Korobov 8 47.25
15 GM @ChessWarrior7197 Nodirbek Abdusattorov 8 47
16 IM @swimmerchess Siva Mahadevan 8 46
17 GM @vladislavkovalev Vladislav Kovalev 8 45.5
18 GM @youngKID Karthikeyan Murali 8 43.75
19 IM @DanielDardha2005 Daniel Dardha 8 43.5
20 GM @Oleksandr_Bortnyk Oleksandr Bortnyk 8 41.5

Onischuk also made it all the way to the final as he first beat Balakrishan and then another compatriot of his, GM Yuriy Kuzubov—the latter had beaten Firouzja in the quarterfinal. Nakamura eliminated Alekseenko and Grachev to reach the final.

Onischuk quickly lost the first game, but then managed to beat Nakamura on demand and in dominating style. Here's the single, decisive bullet game that followed where Onischuk's light-squared bishop got buried in the opening and never really recovered:

Nakamura won the $1,000 first prize and 12 GP points while Onischuk took second ($500 and eight GP points). Grachev and Kuzubov both won $200 and four GP points, while the losing quarterfinalists each earned $100 and two GP points. 

WGM Elena Tomilova (@TomiLen) won the $100 prize for being the top-scoring female player.

Below are the current Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix standings. At the end of the season, the players with the four best scores will advance to the Speed Chess Championship to be hosted later this year.

Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix | Standings After September 1 (Top 20)

# Fed Title Name Username Swiss
1 GM Hikaru Nakamura @Hikaru 67.5 40 107.5
2 GM Parham Maghsoodloo @Parhamov 67 22 89
3 GM Haik Martirosyan @Micki-taryan 59.5 28 87.5
4 GM Vladislav Artemiev @Sibelephant 42.5 36 78.5
5 GM Vladislav Kovalev @vladislavkovalev 66 8 74
6 GM Dmitry Andreikin @2Vladimirovich90 57 14 71
7 GM Grigoriy Oparin @OparinGrigoriy 50.5 20 70.5
8 GM Maxime Vachier-Lagrave @LyonBeast 41.5 28 69.5
9 GM Alireza Firouzja @Firouzja2003 56.5 12 68.5
10 GM Maksim Chigaev @Fandorine 48.5 12 60.5
11 GM Nordibek Abdusattorov @ChessWarrior7197 50 10 60
12 GM Sergey Karjakin @SergeyKarjakin 49.5 10 59.5
13 GM Boris Grachev @Guenplen 47.5 12 59.5
14 IM Tuan Minh Le @wonderfultime 50 6 56
15 GM Alexander Grischuk @Grischuk 49.5 6 55.5
16 GM Aleksandar Indjic @Beca95 49.5 6 55.5
17 GM Oleksandr Bortnyk @Oleksandr_Bortnyk 41 12 53
18 GM Raunak Sadhwani @RaunakSadhwani2005 47.5 4 51.5
19 GM Vladimir Fedoseev @Bigfish1995 33 14 47
20 GM Peter Svidler @PSvidler 33.5 12 45.5

Games final eight

The Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix is presented by Gambit, where you can play classic games like Reversi, Backgammon, and Oh Ship with players from around the world.

More information about the Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix can be found here.

More from PeterDoggers
Abdusattorov Enters Live Top 10 After Win In Prague Masters Opening Round

Abdusattorov Enters Live Top 10 After Win In Prague Masters Opening Round

Honorary Grandmaster Title Posthumously Awarded To Sultan Khan

Honorary Grandmaster Title Posthumously Awarded To Sultan Khan