Death, Taxes, And Nakamura's Bullet Brawl Victories

Death, Taxes, And Nakamura's Bullet Brawl Victories

| 47 | Chess Event Coverage

Three things in life seem to be a surety: death, taxes, and GM Hikaru Nakamura winning the $400 first prize in Bullet Brawl. Hours after securing victory for the fourth time in's Bullet Chess Championship, Nakamura was back online again, cleaning up the field for the 152-player Bullet Brawl field for the seventh time since the inaugural edition.

With GM Magnus Carlsen taking a rest after falling at the hands of the American GM in the final, GM Oleksandr Bortnyk was clearly the second-best player on Saturday and claimed second place ahead of GM Jose Martinez.

IM Eline Roebers won the $100 highest-scoring female prize in a tight race with IM's Karina Ambartsumova and Anna Sargsyan while user DragonWizard02 prevailed in the Community event after scoring 56 wins, one draw, and only a single loss.

As always, the next edition of Bullet Brawl will take place next week on Saturday, July 29, 2023, at 10.00 a.m. PT/19:00 CEST.

How to review games?
The games from July's fourth Bullet Brawl can be found here.

Following his defeat in the Bullet Chess Championship, Carlsen graciously indicated that he believes Nakamura is better than him at that time control and highlighted his longtime rival as "insanely impressive."

Nakamura's run on Saturday was consistent with each of his other performances in Bullet Brawl in 2023. Even with a larger field, he was able to sweep through the two-hour arena. The American superstar conceded just three draws and six losses, which paled in comparison to the 65 wins he scored. 

Proving he still has juice left in the tank after a big week of bullet chess. Image: GMHikaru/Twitch.

Despite the time control, Nakamura put on an exhibition in a variety of different openings, including in the later stages of the event where he produced a model game on the white side of the Sicilian Defense: Grand Prix Attack.

Military precision created a series of puzzle-worthy moments throughout the event, and Nakamura's ability to force his opponent's resignation early helped him to build an insurmountable total of 235.

En route to second place, Bortnyk played destructive chess against his 3000+ rated colleagues and partly owes his placing to a 20-move dark-square domination over the eventual third-place Tang.'s Game Review produced a lofty performance rating of 3650 for the Ukrainian in the clash.

With one more Bullet Brawl due to take place before the start of the FIDE World Cup, there will still be a chance for Nakamura and Carlsen to lock horns in bullet chess before they potentially face off in their first classical encounter since Norway Chess 2023.

Following his meteoric rise back to the number two spot in the world, Nakamura has never been more ready to challenge his longtime rival and the chess world waits with bated breath.


Rank Fed Title Name Username Rating Score
1 GM Hikaru Nakamura Hikaru 3326 235
2 GM Oleksandr Bortnyk Oleksandr_Bortnyk 3219 203
3 GM Jose Martinez Jospem 3177 182
4 GM Andrew Tang penguimgm1 3130 180
5 GM Anish Giri Azzaro25 3166 173
6 GM Rasmus Svane rasmussvane 3055 163
7 GM Benjamin Bok GMBenjaminBok 2946 156
8 GM David Paravyan dropstoneDP 3128 153
9 GM Pranav V vi_pranav 3043 149
10 GM Sergei Zhigalko Zhigalko_Sergei 3107 148
11 GM Aleksandr Shimanov shimastream 3039 142
12 GM Shant Sargsyan Sargsyan_Shant 3003 140
13 GM Dimitry Andreikin FairChess_on_Youtube 3042 137
14 GM Matthias Bluebaum Msb2 3017 134
15 GM Eric Hansen hansen 3038 128
16 NM Janak Awatramani 12teen 2982 127
17 GM Tuan Minh Le wonderfultime 3076 127
18 GM S.L. Narayanan Indianlad 2973 125
19 GM Nihal Sarin nihalsarin 3251 124
20 IM Terry Renato IMTerryble 3013 119

Bullet Brawl is an exciting new titled arena that features's top bullet specialists that now takes place weekly on Saturdays. The format is a two-hour arena with a 1+0 time control; the prize fund is $2,500.

Much like Titled Tuesday and Arena Kings, Bullet Brawl often features top GMs, including Hikaru Nakamura, Daniel Naroditsky, Andrew Tang, Tuan Minh Le, and many more!

Previous coverage:

More from FM JackRodgers
Yisrael Becomes 1st Female, African-American National Master In U.S.

Yisrael Becomes 1st Female, African-American National Master In U.S.

Naroditsky Wins 21st Brawl, Closes In On Nakamura's All-Time Record

Naroditsky Wins 21st Brawl, Closes In On Nakamura's All-Time Record