Tata Steel Chess 2012

Tata Steel Chess 2012

| 39 | Chess Event Coverage

The 2012 Tata Steel Chess tournament runs from 14-29 January in Wijk Aan Zee in the Netherlands.

Once again some of the best players in the world converge on this small Dutch seaside town for three separate tournaments - the A, B and C Groups. Each tournament being a single round-robin competition of 14 players.

The A Group is the headline event, with top seed Magnus Carlsen facing a hugely impressive field - not just for their chess ability but also their fighting spirit. A truly excellent line-up of crowd-pleasing chess talent!

Play starts each day at 13:30 local time (12:30 UTC) except the final round which is at 12:00 (11:00 UTC). The official site will be broadcasting the games live here.

The time control is 100 minutes for 40 moves, followed by 50 minutes for 20 moves, then 15 minutes to a finish with a 30 seconds increment starting from the first move.  There are 3 rest days on 18, 23 & 26 January.

The full line-up in the A Group:

A Group

Name  Nat
1 Carlsen, Magnus  NOR 2835
2 Aronian, Levon  ARM 2805
3 Radjabov, Teimour  AZE 2773
4 Topalov, Veselin  BUL 2770
5 Karjakin, Sergey  RUS 2769
6 Ivanchuk, Vassily  UKR 2766
7 Gashimov, Vugar  AZE 2761
8 Nakamura, Hikaru  USA 2759
9 Gelfand, Boris  ISR 2739
10 Caruana, Fabiano  ITA 2736
11 Kamsky, Gata  USA 2732
12 Giri, Anish  NED 2714
13 Navara, David  CZE 2712
14 Van Wely, Loek  NED 2692


Hikaru Nakamura will be hoping to put his recent slip-ups at Reggio Emilia behind him to defend the breakthrough Tata title he won last yearMagnus Carlsen lost a game to Anish Giri at last year's event and will want to improve on his third placed finish.   

Lev Aronian has consolidated his 2800+ status and is another potential winner. Teimour Radjabov is in good form, but Veselin Topalov and Vassily Ivanchuk both have something to prove. Sergey Karjakin is another previous winner, but Vugar Gashimov plays in Wijk Aan Zee for the first time. Boris Gelfand will want to display some good form ahead of his world title match against Vishy Anand, and Gata Kamsky makes a welcome return. 

Young guns Fabiano Caruana and Anish Giri are starting to prove they can mix it with the big boys, David Navara qualified as (joint) winner of last year's B Group, and the experienced Loek Van Wely completes the field.

The B and C Groups:

B Group

Name  Nat Elo 
1 Bruzon Batista, Lazaro  CUB 2691
2 Potkin, Vladimir  RUS 2684
3 Tiviakov, Sergei  NED 2677
4 Motylev, Alexander  RUS 2677
5 Harikrishna, Pentala  IN
6 Ernst, Sipke  NED 2606
7 L'Ami, Erwin  NED 2596
8 Reinderman, Dimitri  NED 2581
9 Timman, Jan H  NED 2571
10 Nyzhnyk, Illya  UKR 2568
11 Lahno, Kateryna  UKR 2557
12 Vocaturo, Daniele  ITA 2545
13 Harika, Dronavalli  IND 2516
14 Cmilyte, Viktorija  LTU 2503

C Group

Name  Nat
1 Sadler, Matthew D  ENG 2660
2 Turov, Maxim  RUS 2645
3 Adhiban, Baskaran  IND 2561
4 Tikkanen, Hans  SWE 2549
5 Grover, Sahaj  IND 2532
6 Brandenburg, Daan  NED 2527
7 Danielian, Elina  ARM 2490
8 Paehtz, Elisabeth  GER 2454
9 Tania, Sachdev  IND 2411
10 Hopman, Pieter  NED 2342
11 Ootes, Lars  NED 2326
12 Schut, Lisa  NED 2290
13 Haast, Anne  NED 2290
14 Goudriaan, Etienne  NED 2279


Once again the B and C Groups promise to be entertaining tournaments in their own right, with a good mix of experience and youth, and plenty of women players for good measure.  The B Group favourites are Lazaro Bruzon and Wijk debutante Vladimir Potkin, but many eyes will be on the great veteran Jan Timman, while C-Group graduates Daniele Vocaturo, Illya Nyzhnyk and Kateryna Lahno will want to make a good impression.

The C Group is headed by semi-retired Matthew Sadler, making a rare and welcome appearance after a recent successful return to competitive chess.

Good luck to all the players! Look out for tournament updates at!

UPDATE -The full pairings are now available here.

More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix