Tata Steel 2012 Line-Up Announced

Tata Steel 2012 Line-Up Announced

| 39 | Chess Event Coverage

The organisers of the Tata Steel tournament (formerly Corus) have announced details of the line-up for the 2012 edition of this historic tournament.

The event will take place from 13-29 January 2012 in the traditional venue of the Dutch seaside town of Wijk Aan Zee.

As usual, there will be three separate 14-player single round-robin tournaments, named the A, B and C groups, in order of strength. 

The A Group will feature 10 of the top 20 players in the world, headed by world #1 Magnus Carlsen.

Hikaru Nakamura will be defending the title he won in early 2011, and Veselin Topalov makes a return to the top flight after some considerable time away.  World title challenger Boris Gefland is also making an appearance.

The rest of the line-up includes many more very strong and dynamic competitors which augurs well for an entertaining tournament.

The A Group in full:

 Name Nat Elo
 Magnus Carlsen NOR 2823
 Levon Aronian ARM 2807
 Sergey Karjakin RUS 2772
 Veselin Topalov BUL 2768
 Vasily Ivanchuk UKR 2765
 Vugar Gashimov AZE 2756
 Gata Kamsky USA 2756
 Hikaru Nakamura USA 2753
 Teymour Radjabov AZE 2752
 Boris Gelfand ISR 2746
 Anish Giri NED 2722
 Fabiano Caruana ITA 2712
 David Navara CZE 2705
 Loek van Wely NED 2689


The 'undercard' at Wijk Aan Zee can be equally as entertaining as the headline event, and are very strong tournaments in their own right.  The B Group is headed by Alexander Motylev, and includes veteran Jan Timman, and last year's C Group champion Daniele Vocaturo from Italy.

There are also 3 talented women players in the group; Ukrainian #1 Kateryna Lahno, European Champion Viktorija Cmilyte, and the young Indian #2 Harika Dronavalli

The B Group in full:

 Name Nat Elo
 Alexander Motylev RUS 2690
 Lazaro Bruzon CUB 2682
 Pentala Harikrishna IND 2672
 Vladimir Potkin RUS 2671
 Sergey Tiviakov NED 2647
 Dimitri Reinderman NED 2594
 Erwin l'Ami NED 2592
 Sipke Ernst NED 2581
 Illya Nyzhnik UKR 2561
 Jan Timman NED 2555
 Kateryna Lahno UKR 2554
 Daniele Vocaturo ITA 2537
 Viktorija Cmilyte LIT 2525
 Harika Dronavalli IND 2505


Finally, the C Group is also an intriguing competition, especially with the inclusion of Matthew Sadler, the semi-retired English GM who recently returned to chess with a bang, and more female talent including Armenian #1 Elina Danielian and German #1 Elizabeth Paetz.

The C Group (one place still tbc):

 Name Nat Elo
 Maxim Turov RUS 2643
 Matthew Sadler ENG 2625
 Hans Tikkanen SWE 2591
 Daan Brandenburg NED 2522
 Elina Danielian ARM 2517
 Sahaij Grover IND 2514
 Elisabeth Paehtz GER 2461
 Tania Sachdev IND 2419
 Pieter Hopman NED 2351
 Lars Ootes NED 2340
 Lisa Schut NED 2290
 Anne Haast NED 2264
 Etienne Goudriaan NED 2250


The official website for the Tata Steel tournament can be found here.

More from SonofPearl News Is Changing... News Is Changing...

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix

Beijing To Host 5th 2012/13 Grand Prix