Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

What strange chess rules can you think up?


  • 2 months ago · Quote · #641

    SirCoffeeCrisp

    I sometimes wish that pawns could capture a chess piece that lands on a square right behind them, on the diagonals (either left or right).

  • 2 months ago · Quote · #642

    winerkleiner

    Both players must balance an egg on their head, whoever's egg falls and breaks, loses.  

  • 2 months ago · Quote · #643

    DylanK25

    If you have a pinned piece, you must replace it with a pawn. If it is a pawn that is pinned, it is replaced with a queen. 

  • 2 months ago · Quote · #644

    Squarely

    Both players are connected to bio-monitoring devices (EEG, EKG, Heart and Breathing rate, Galvanic Skin response, Blood Sugar and Hydration Levels).  At higher ratings, the urge to urinate and vascular constriction (fight or flight response) are also measured.  The twist is, you can see your opponent's read-outs and he can see yours, but neither can see his own.  Negative points are awarded to the losing player upon achieving an uncontrolable rage with veins popping on the neck with a bright red face as he throws the chess board across the room as he storms off muttering under his breath about how everybody is an idiot.

  • 2 months ago · Quote · #645

    motherinlaw

    Squarely wrote:

    Both players are connected to bio-monitoring devices (EEG, EKG, Heart and Breathing rate, Galvanic Skin response, Blood Sugar and Hydration Levels).  At higher ratings, the urge to urinate and vascular constriction (fight or flight response) are also measured.  The twist is, you can see your opponent's read-outs and he can see yours, but neither can see his own.  Negative points are awarded to the losing player upon achieving an uncontrolable rage with veins popping on the neck with a bright red face as he throws the chess board across the room as he storms off muttering under his breath about how everybody is an idiot.

    I sense a personal story here. (;-D)

  • 2 months ago · Quote · #646

    winerkleiner

    Two people talk about "Star Wars" and argue right next to the game, the first to correct them when they say "Luke I'm not your father" loses.

  • 2 months ago · Quote · #647

    mauve_penguin


    chessniu wrote:

    You play with only queen and pawns and the first person to lose all the pieces wins. You must capture a queen when possible and if you cant then you have to capture a pawn and if you cant capture any piece you can do anyrthing

    The position is set up like this:

     
  • 2 months ago · Quote · #648

    DylanK25

    Hostages

    You may choose one of the enemy's troops to be your hostage. Hostages are captured pieces. You may send that one troop into the game at any time to the square you captured it on. Here are rule:

    1. You may not place the piece if it delivers immediate check.

    2. You may not place the piece if the square is occupied by any piece, regardless of side.

    3. You may not place the piece when you are in check, even if placing it  blocks check.

    4. Placing the hostage piece is your move for that turn.


    Double Agents

    Double agents are pieces that can be controlled by both sides. They would be a gray color, representing that they are neutral. There would be two bishop, rook, and knight double agents. Rules:

    1. The BDA's (Bishop Double Agents), would begin at squares c4 and f5 

    2. The RDA's would begin at squares a4 and h5

    3. The NDA's would begin at squares b5 and g4

    4. The Double Agents can not block check or give check.

    5. The Double Agents can share squares with one piece, but only with the side it last moved with.

    6. The Double Agents being moved does not count as a move only once. After that, all Double Agent moves count as your turn.

    7. If a double agent is captured, it can become that side's hostage piece. If the side that captured it chooses it not to be the hostage piece, then it remains on the board, sharing a square with the piece that "captured" it. (This is an exception to rule 5.)

    8. Double Agents may not be moved by both sides consecutively.

     

    Powerups

    In this chess variant, each piece has a powerup.


    Pawn: Pawns can, at any position or time during the game, take two turns where it is promoted to a rook, bishop, or knight. If the piece is captured, it returns to pawn status. (Known as: Pawn 2-Power)

    Rook: Rooks can promote to a SuperRook at any position in the game, as long as the game is at least 15 moves in. The SuperRook can become invincible for one move, unstoppable. It can plow through pieces and capture them all, without having the risk of capture. If the SuperRook hits one of their pieces, however, it is demoted to Rook status. (Known as: SuperRook)

    Knight: The knight can promote to the double knight at any position in the game as soon as it makes it's first move. The double knight splits into two knights that can jump in the same way a regular knight would. The two knights in the double knight mirror each other. If one of the two knights in the double knight where to move [c3-d5], the other would move [c3-d2]. These pieces can capture, but if either one of the two knights hits any of their pieces, it demotes to a regular knight on the square that did not house any of their pieces. This powerup lasts for three moves. (Known as: Double Knight)

    Bishop: The bishop can promote to DiagonalWarp at any time in the game, as long as the bishop is within the 16 central squares. The DiagonalWarp, sometimes known as the DW, can drive underground, and pop up at any position, as long as it is diagonal to it's previous square. It can not capture pieces along the way to it's new square, but can not be captured until it reaches it's new square. This powerup lasts for two moves. (Known as: DiagonalWarp, or DW)

    Queen: The queen does not have much it can be upgraded to, but it can be promoted to a queen bomb. You destroy all enemy pieces 2 squares away from the queen, in a square. If the king is in that radius, it is simply transported to where the queen has just been. (Known as: BombQueen)


  • 2 months ago · Quote · #649

    motherinlaw

    I believe I've just witnessed the invention of a brand new board game, loosely derived from an ancient board game known as "chess."  

  • 2 months ago · Quote · #650

    Iluvsmetuna

    In time scrambles, if a player makes five moves in ten seconds, he can set off a stink bomb under his opponents nose.

  • 8 weeks ago · Quote · #651

    BigDoggProblem

    If the move number is a prime number, you must remove one of your own units instead of making a move.

  • 8 weeks ago · Quote · #652

    Moswild

    You can't make a move after which you king is attacked by your own piece. They are regicidal traitors and they would kill your own poor king. The only exception is your queen - it is attacking your king from the start. If you can't make a move, it is a lose for you, if there exists such a move, after which your king is attacked by your piece, but not by opponent's, otherwise it is still a stalemate.

  • 7 weeks ago · Quote · #653

    motherinlaw

    Your poor king -- attacked on all sides by his own people!  It's especially sad to picture his own wife attacking him "from the start."  Is this the case for both players?  Or do players get to roll some dice before the game to see if they start out surrounded by traitors?  If the dice went against me, I think I'd resign right away and try a nice game of checkers.

  • 4 weeks ago · Quote · #654

    chessniu

    this would be checkmate

  • 4 weeks ago · Quote · #655

    motherinlaw

    stevenhan wrote:

    When you promote you can promote to ANY piece on the game. But they are YOUR pieces to move. You win by capturing the king(s) of your opposing color. So when you checkmate you have to take an extra move to eat the king. Lets say you are white and you decide to promote to a BLACK queen. This queen cannot capture any of its black counterparts it can capture yours though but you get to control it so you can use it to help create a stalemate etcetera. Tell me if you like this variation I certainly do!

    I'd be glad to try to understand and memorize these rules -- if I could be sure it wouldn't make my head explode.  (Sorry -- being old, am getting short on neurons -- it's a miracle I can still remember en passant...)

  • 4 weeks ago · Quote · #656

    chessniu

    you control all pieces that are in your 4 front ranks


Back to Top

Post your reply: