Forums

Teaching beginners

Sort:
Xhris

Hi,

A friend who's almost an absolute beginner (knows the rules but that's about all) has asked me to teach him to play better.

As I'm only a fairly intermediate player myself (hovering around the 1300 mark on this site) I was wondering if anyone has any tips for how I can most effectively do that. Should I just play through a few games and stop them at key moments to look at what's happening, or find a few examples of games to look at? Or should I be more structured and split it all into sections, looking at common ways of winning material, forcing checkmates and common openings?

Are there any recommended "resources" that would be helpful?

onewho_dies

Well I would give him a few tips and tell him to go over some  of the annotated games to see what the higher level people think of. And if your just starting never assmune for 1 second!! that they made a dumb move. Always look  for the reason behind the move whether it is out of your league or below what you would do because often times you can't see everything. Merry Christmas!

photoid

There's a great book as well, called Bobby Fisher teaches chess. give's a good structured way on how to approach the thinking in chess, without straining his capacity to read a fairly long, drawn out move-by-move read-out. Give him structure before you teach him trick mates like the legal mate, otherwise he will ignore the building blocks necessary to build a good game.Teach him the smothered mate, to show how with the right material, you can overcome a deficit. And have him work on a good opening that he feels comfortable in developing, and stick with it for a good 6months to a year, to learn its ins, and outs.then he can move on to another. Good luck with your new student.

shreeganeshMpillai