Blogs
Attacking the King's Indian

Attacking the King's Indian

AttilaTurzo
| 10

In round 4 of the Vezerkepzo 2022 May Grandmaster tourney I played with Tamás Tancsa a talanted young player from Hungary. You can check his chess.com games at https://www.chess.com/member/tomivezer2007


He played the King's indian defense with Nbd7, e5, c6. I played d4-d5 to gain space and he locked the center by c6-c5. I decided to play g4 to meet f7-f5 with exchanges on f5 and use the g-file and the center control to attack. He has a chance to equalize by giving up his dark bishop for the c3 knight. Later the white pieces became very active:

Rank after Round 4 

Rk. SNo   Name FED Rtg  TB1   TB2   TB3 
1 5
IM Dudin Gleb FID 2473 3,5 5,00 3
2 2
IM Mazur Stefan SVK 2423 3,0 3,00 2
3 6
GM Berczes David HUN 2437 2,5 2,75 2
4 9
GM Nagy Gabor HUN 2503 2,0 4,75 1
5 10
IM Turzo Attila HUN 2338 2,0 2,00 1
6 8
GM Pacher Milan SVK 2394 1,5 2,75 1
7 4
FM Fule Simon HUN 2297 1,5 0,50 1
8 1
IM Karavade Eesha IND 2348 1,0 1,75 0
9 3
GM Aveskulov Valeriy UKR 2531 0,0 0,00 0
7
Tancsa Tamas HUN 2091 0,0 0,00 0

You can look all the details of the tourney at http://chess-results.com/tnr636389.aspx?lan=1&art=1&turdet=YES&flag=30

The games will start at 3:00 pm Budapest time, which is 2:00 pm London, 9:00 am New York, 6:00 am Los Angeles time.

You can watch the LIVE games if you click here

I updated my webpage and added a visualization test. You can check it here: http://atillaturzo.com/ 

If you would like to improve, please check the article about my coaching philosophy and methods in this article:


You can email me about lessons at attilaturzo@gmail.com
Have great games!