Blogs
Destroying the King's shelter

Destroying the King's shelter

AttilaTurzo
| 5

In round 2 of the Vezerkepzo 2022 May GM tourney I played with Grandmaster David Berczes.

Dávid Bérczes (born 14 January 1990) is a Hungarian chess Grandmaster. FIDE awarded him the International Master title in 2005 and the Grandmaster title in 2008.

Chess career

He tied for 3rd–6th with Evgeny Gleizerov, Yuriy Kuzubov and Pia Cramling in the Rilton Cup 2008/2009.[1] In 2011 he tied for 2nd–7th with Deep Sengupta, Viacheslav Zakhartsov, Krisztián Szabó, Lev Gutman, Samuel Shankland and Maxim Turov in the ZMDI Schachfestival in Dresden.[2] In 2014 Bérczes tied for 1st–5th with Timur Gareev, Sergei Azarov, Daniel Naroditsky and Sam Shankland in the Millionaire Chess Open in Las Vegas, Nevada.[3]

His elder brother Csaba Bérczes is also a chess player, an International Master.[4]

In the Andorran Open of 2012 he scored 6,5 points in 9 rounds, achieving 13th place.

In March 2019, Berczes earned clear first place in the Charlotte Chess Center's Spring 2019 GM Norm Invitational held in Charlotte, North Carolina with an undefeated score of 6.5/9. [5]

                                                                                                                                                            from Wikipedia

I played the exchange variation and he replied with early e7-e5 which gave him an isolated pawn on d5. I blocked the pawn and started to attack with rooks on the d-file, but totally forgot his attacking possibility on the kingside. Qc8 with Bd7 attacked the h3 pawn and gave the possibility of the sacrifice on h3. I defended with Kh2 which was a fatal mistake in the time trouble. Rd3 would defend the 3rd rank and prevent the sacrifice and would save my king:

In the morning I went to run to enjoy the fresh air and the sunshine.

Rank after Round 2 

Rk. SNo   Name FED Rtg  TB1 
1 5
IM Dudin Gleb FID 2473 2,0
2 2
IM Mazur Stefan SVK 2423 1,5
3 8
GM Pacher Milan SVK 2394 1,0
4 6
GM Berczes David HUN 2437 1,0
5 4
FM Fule Simon HUN 2297 1,0
6 9
GM Nagy Gabor HUN 2503 0,5
7 1
IM Karavade Eesha IND 2348 0,5
10
IM Turzo Attila HUN 2338 0,5
9 3
GM Aveskulov Valeriy UKR 2531 0,0
7
Tancsa Tamas HUN 2091 0,0

You can look all the details of the tourney at http://chess-results.com/tnr636389.aspx?lan=1&art=1&turdet=YES&flag=30

Today we will play 2 games.

The morning game will start at 10:00 am Budapest time, which is 9:00 am London, 4:00 am New York, 1:00 am Los Angeles time.

The afternoon game will start at 4:00 pm Budapest time, which is 3:00 pm London, 10:00 am New York, 7:00 am Los Angeles time.

The final game will start at 3:00 pm Budapest time, which is 2:00 pm London, 9:00 am New York, 6:00 am Los Angeles time.

You can watch the LIVE games if you click here

I updated my webpage and added a visualization test. You can check it here: http://atillaturzo.com/ 

If you would like to improve, please check the article about my coaching philosophy and methods in this article:


You can email me about lessons at attilaturzo@gmail.com
Have great games!