Four Stages of Competence

Aug 6, 2010, 6:50 PM |

I ran across this concept recently in another area of my life, and it made me think a lot about my chess skill level.  I'm at #3 most of the time, struggling at #4, and occasionally falling back into #2.  (#2 usually strikes when I am making my moves on my iPhone while I'm at work or standing in the grocery line LOL.)

  1. Unconscious Incompetence

    The individual neither understands nor knows how to do something, nor recognizes the deficit, nor has a desire to address it.
  2. Conscious Incompetence
    Though the individual does not understand or know how to do something, he or she does recognize the deficit, without yet addressing it.
  3. Conscious Competence
    The individual understands or knows how to do something. However, demonstrating the skill or knowledge requires a great deal of consciousness or concentration.
  4. Unconscious Competence
    The individual has had so much practice with a skill that it becomes "second nature" and can be performed easily (often without concentrating too deeply). He or she may or may not be able teach it to others, depending upon how and when it was learned.