Event Chess Game (gyrados06 - Bad_Dobby_Fischer) #9

Sort:
Avatar of Bad_Dobby_Fischer

I don't know if I can win this, but I'm the one with winning chances, so

Rxf7

Avatar of gyrados06

b4#

Oops

Avatar of gyrados06

tongue.png

Avatar of dax00

Actually not mate. Only legal move for Black is Kb6. Due to the first event, the King is not attacked past the black rook's force field.

Avatar of Bad_Dobby_Fischer

Kb6

Avatar of gyrados06

Isn't that prompting?

Avatar of gyrados06

 I thought that it was checkmate as I didn't know that the rooks could stop checks. Can Martin be the final judge of this?(Both for the checkmate and for the prompting)

Avatar of Martin0

prompting? (sorry I don't understand, maybe cause english is not my first language)

As I previously mentioned this game a check is a threat of capturing the enemy king. So since the forcefield prevents the capture, there is no check.

Avatar of dax00

If there's only one legal move, I don't see the harm. Either the game is over, or the only legal move is played. It seems safe to assume that anyone can find a legal move if informed that there is a legal move. If there were more than 1 legal move, I wouldn't have mentioned any particular move. I've seen too many incorrectly declared checkmates in variant chess to not say anything. 

Anyways, if you can't immediately pass through a force field, I don't see how you could claim to give check through one.

Avatar of gyrados06

Sorry for the confusion, i understand now.

Avatar of gyrados06

Bxf5.

I will probably resign soon, I blundered the knight now since I didn't checkmate

Avatar of dax00

 

Avatar of Bad_Dobby_Fischer

Rc6

Now I kind of feel bad, because I don't know if I would've found the move myself. I might have just accepted the loss without looking too much into it

Avatar of gyrados06

h3

Avatar of Bad_Dobby_Fischer

Rxe6

Avatar of dax00
 

Rxe6 is illegal. Please select another move.

Avatar of gyrados06

Time warning

Avatar of Bad_Dobby_Fischer

why is it illegal?

Avatar of dax00

The rook force field prevents your rook from moving more than 1 square along it. Since the white rook is 2 squares away, it cannot be captured.

Avatar of Martin0

See example 3 in post #22