x
Chess - Play & Learn

Chess.com

FREE - In Google Play

FREE - in Win Phone Store

VIEW

Looking for Opponents/Games?

  • #181
  • #182

    If the black knight was a rook instead and it was Black to move, can Black capture the white rook?

    (Witch's clarification diagram #43)

  • #183
    FortunaMajor wrote:

    If the black knight was a rook instead and it was Black to move, can Black capture the white rook?

    (Witch's clarification diagram #43)

    Nope.

    The white witch makes adjacent pieces of any colour transparent for white pieces only.

  • #184

    Btw, evert823 is the "creator" of the rules for the witch, which I believe was first used on these forums about a year ago. Here is an updated diagram, which helps clarify that a witch only helps her own army. From an earlier post, "The witch can move like a queen (orange lines), and jump two squares in any direction or like a knight (orange dots). The witch cannot capture. The witch is transparent to friendly pieces, and she makes all adjacent pieces (inside yellow dotted line) transparent to friendly pieces, so for example the white rook attacks the queen."

    null

  • #185
    Yeah
  • #186

    One more thing. If it was black to move, can the pawn capture the witch?

  • #187

    Sure. The Witch cannot capture pieces put any piece can capture the Witch.

     

  • #188

    Just one last thing: What does orthogonally mean?

  • #189

    Orthogonally means left or right, and up and down (the rook's moves).

    Good question about if it was black to move. Like evert said, the black pawn can capture the witch. So white would lose witch, white could then still capture queen, and black would have a pawn on e3, two squares from a promotion - possibly getting a queen again.happy.png

  • #190
    [COMMENT DELETED]
  • #191

    [COMMENT DELETED] (pc problems)sad.png

  • #192

    So the witch has the powers of knight and queen combined. Can it jump over other pieces like the knight while making queen-like moves?

  • #193

      @FortunaMajor, look at the picture at post #183. The orange dots are squares it can jump to, which is 2 square in any direction or as a knight move. If it moves like a queen (orange lines), then it can not jump. Also it can not capture with any of the movements.

  • #194

    Sweet. Witch sounds fun. Thanks for your help! It would be insane if two witches come close together!

Top

Online Now