FREE - In Google Play
FREE - in Win Phone Store
@Martin0, our new game is here:
If the black knight was a rook instead and it was Black to move, can Black capture the white rook?
(Witch's clarification diagram #43)
The white witch makes adjacent pieces of any colour transparent for white pieces only.
Btw, evert823 is the "creator" of the rules for the witch, which I believe was first used on these forums about a year ago. Here is an updated diagram, which helps clarify that a witch only helps her own army. From an earlier post, "The witch can move like a queen (orange lines), and jump two squares in any direction or like a knight (orange dots). The witch cannot capture. The witch is transparent to friendly pieces, and she makes all adjacent pieces (inside yellow dotted line) transparent to friendly pieces, so for example the white rook attacks the queen."
One more thing. If it was black to move, can the pawn capture the witch?
Sure. The Witch cannot capture pieces put any piece can capture the Witch.
Just one last thing: What does orthogonally mean?
Orthogonally means left or right, and up and down (the rook's moves).
Good question about if it was black to move. Like evert said, the black pawn can capture the witch. So white would lose witch, white could then still capture queen, and black would have a pawn on e3, two squares from a promotion - possibly getting a queen again.
[COMMENT DELETED] (pc problems)
So the witch has the powers of knight and queen combined. Can it jump over other pieces like the knight while making queen-like moves?
@FortunaMajor, look at the picture at post #183. The orange dots are squares it can jump to, which is 2 square in any direction or as a knight move. If it moves like a queen (orange lines), then it can not jump. Also it can not capture with any of the movements.
Sweet. Witch sounds fun. Thanks for your help! It would be insane if two witches come close together!