Forums

Stuck at 1200 roughly

Sort:
PerpetuallyPinned

Not sure I can add much value after the CM's input, but I can try.

I'm not a Dragon expert, so check on your move 7...Nc6. It looks early and maybe possible sometimes to transpose to another variation. For example, Sozin or Rauzer.

Now for the position above...

Checks- none 

Captures- 

1.Bg5 x Nf6 (protected by e7 & Bg7)

Bg5 is unprotected, you could threaten it with:

a) h6 (might can play in next move or so) or

b) Qa5 (might be blocked by Bb5 or Nb5)

Where could it go or how could white protect it in each case?

2.Bc4 x f7 (protected only by King)

You could protect it with rook & king by

c) O-O (also addresses King Safety and possibly a mainline variation move)

3.Nd4 x Nc6 (protected only by b7)

You could protect it again with

d) Bd7

You could capture Nd4 with Nc6 (If you choose not to capture, you need to calculate if White does on next move).

e) Nxd4

White could recapture with Qxd4

In this situation, I'd go with O-O knowing that white could play Nxc6 and bxc6 protects d5 (a center square) from the c3 knight and opens the b-file for queen side play.

Charly738

pfren, thanks happy.png but actually, I Analyzed all of them happy.png, to determine where I went wrong.

Some were blunders (I discount them)

Some were losing end games (Need to work on endgame)

Some were strategical bad choices (this is where I want to improve)

Some were opening blunders (Need basic work on opening traps).

I have noticeably changed my working method and now spend more time on puzzles rather than playing rapid. 

Charly738

perpetuallyPinned,

Yes I agree with 0-0, but Nxc6 and bxc6 would give me an isolated pawn on the a file, which either I let it die because my rook has better things to do than defend a mere pawn, or I sacrifice a rook to defend a pawn.

RAU4ever

7. ... Nc6 is fine as a move order, and in many cases the proper move order, although Nc6 and 0-0 seem interchangeable.