It's not complicated.
If you run out of time but your opponent doesn't have enough material left to mate you, it's a draw.
In your game, you ran out of time and your opponent had more than enough material left to mate you. So you lost.
It's not complicated.
If you run out of time but your opponent doesn't have enough material left to mate you, it's a draw.
In your game, you ran out of time and your opponent had more than enough material left to mate you. So you lost.
Ah, thank you! I could have sworn that I've been involved in draws and we've had more material! So much to learn yet and such fun! And I like your handle.
I just searched and there is Draw via Stalemate, Insufficient Material, Draw by timeout vs insufficient Material and a few others. These are the three that are unclear to me. I guess I'll just pull my draws up from my past (and maybe others' games) and study them to see the differences! I love this website!
Here's a game of mine with same situation - both kings and only a Knight and it was called a Draw. I code for a living and inconsistencies bug me until I understand them.
https://www.chess.com/analysis/game/live/141650761260/analysis?move=134
I'll keep at it!
Here's a game of mine with same situation - both kings and only a Knight and it was called a Draw. I code for a living and inconsistencies bug me until I understand them.
https://www.chess.com/analysis/game/live/141650761260/analysis?move=134
I'll keep at it!
When the result of the game pops up, it will tell you why the game was a draw. In this case, the result was a draw due to insufficient material because both sides had time on their clock and it is impossible to checkmate a lone king with just a king and knight. At a minimum, you need a king, knight and bishop to checkmate the king.
To any of the moderators (Martin Stahl, justbefair, etc) am I misinterpreting the fact that one support article states that A king and 2 knights vs a king is considered insufficient mating material in one article and isn't in the other or am I correct in my reading that the 2 articles provide conflicting information? I was looking through the articles for my previous post and ran into a bit of confusion.
https://support.chess.com/en/articles/8557986-my-opponent-ran-out-of-time-why-was-it-a-draw
https://support.chess.com/en/articles/8705277-what-does-insufficient-mating-material-mean
Thanks, @lostpawn247! The first game had far more time and I kept waiting for the message "draw due to insufficient material' like other games but it never happened. So I finally just let the clock run down waiting for it until it expired and I lost.
I'm still very unclear on the differences; yes, I know it tells me why it was a Draw and on second game, it was insufficient material but why didn't I get a draw for insufficient material on the first game?
I'm going to keep researching, as it seems you are as well - much appreciated. I'll keep at it! At least I'm blundering far less!
I'm still very unclear on the differences; yes, I know it tells me why it was a Draw and on second game, it was insufficient material but why didn't I get a draw for insufficient material on the first game?
It is quite easy for the stronger side to checkmate with a rook (rook + king vs a lonely king). On the other hand, it's completely impossible to checkmate with just a knight. If you don't believe it, just try to put the pieces anywhere and see it for yourself.
Oh wow. That makes sense! I SHALL play with that and it actually gives me the idea of playing with draws, setting up my own tests! ROCKIN' COOL! I shall figure this out yet!
I sure appreciate all the input from folks here. I'm not trying to become a GM. Like (probably) most here, it is for fun but the FUN is in figuring it out. I love this website and the people here.
Hey everyone! Can you help me understand? This happens a lot to me. I thought it would be a draw (at the end of 70+ moves because of insufficient material) but I lost on time.
https://www.chess.com/game/142412213174
If the answer is more complicated than a response here can handle, can you recommend a link to more in-depth discussion about the rules on Draws? Thank you for considering my question!
Sometimes I get a Draw when I thought I lost (I'm quite surprised) and I just don't understand the distinction!