Why did the server not call a draw? Three fold repetition.

Sort:
Avatar of bullrock
[COMMENT DELETED]
Avatar of bullrock

 

Avatar of notmtwain

You have to claim it by hitting the draw button. Like in over the board tournament chess, you have to claim it.

Avatar of eric0022

In contrast, five-fold repetitions are immediate draws without claim in over-the-board games. Not sure about Chess.com online games though.

Avatar of notmtwain
eric0022 wrote:

In contrast, five-fold repetitions are immediate draws without claim in over-the-board games. Not sure about Chess.com online games though.

Without a claim? Surely there must be a claim.

Avatar of Martin_Stahl
notmtwain wrote:
eric0022 wrote:

In contrast, five-fold repetitions are immediate draws without claim in over-the-board games. Not sure about Chess.com online games though.

Without a claim? Surely there must be a claim.

 

It is automatic in OTB,under USCF and FIDE regulations, but a TD/Arbiter would need to be watching to see it happen.

 

As far as I know, it is not implemented here.

Avatar of kinglysac

I didnt see any 3 fold reps in there

Avatar of RookSacrifice_OLD

This is why you should offer a draw on every move. Then you guarantee you get a draw if you repeat position 3 times

Avatar of pfren
notmtwain έγραψε:
eric0022 wrote:

In contrast, five-fold repetitions are immediate draws without claim in over-the-board games. Not sure about Chess.com online games though.

Without a claim? Surely there must be a claim.

Nope- without a claim for 5-fold. Rule 5.3.1.1 in FIDE handbook.

Avatar of FischerWasTheBetter

The position have never been repeat three times.

Excuse my poor english

Avatar of RMChess1954

If you click on white's move 28, 32, & 34 none of the pieces move. This is the same position 3 times. Please read post #6. Martin has answered the question. This is a website. It is not governed by the official rules. They try to make it as close as they can. Maybe someday the rule will be added. It would require a lot of computing power to track this on the thousands of games that may be going at any given moment.

Avatar of eddiew13

?

Avatar of eric0022

It's a draw based on 28W/32W/34W. All the rights of en passant and castling remain unchanged over the three contested positions. A draw can be claimed after 34W.

 

I am looking to see if 28B/30B/32B is eligible also. EDIT; Yes a draw can be claimed after 32B. What only matters is three repeated positions with the same side to move and same rights to castling and en passant in each position, not repeated moves.

Avatar of FischerWasTheBetter

The positions have not been repeat in even conditions ,the moves is not similar.

Avatar of pfren
FischerWasTheBetter έγραψε:

The positions have not been repeat in even conditions ,the moves is not similar.

You are wrong.

Actually there are more than one instances of threefold repetition. One of them is this:

 

 

Happened at white's 27th, 31st and 33rd moves.

Being a lazy guy, I will let you find the other instances of 3-fold in that game.

"The moves are not similar" - so what? It does not matter if the rook landed to g8 from a8, b8, c8, or outer space...

Avatar of FischerWasTheBetter

The moves between the three positions is not the same....

 

Avatar of pfren
FischerWasTheBetter έγραψε:

The moves between the three positions is not the same....

 

So what? It does not matter.

Read the rules again.

Avatar of chrka
Martin_Stahl wrote:
notmtwain wrote:
eric0022 wrote:

In contrast, five-fold repetitions are immediate draws without claim in over-the-board games. Not sure about Chess.com online games though.

Without a claim? Surely there must be a claim.

 

It is automatic in OTB,under USCF and FIDE regulations, but a TD/Arbiter would need to be watching to see it happen.

 

As far as I know, it is not implemented here.

It's implemented in Live.

Avatar of bullrock

I did try to claim a draw. Guess you have to do it exactly when the three fold occurs? When I hit draw button, it only offered a draw instead claiming it.

Avatar of Martin_Stahl
bullrock wrote:

I did try to claim a draw. Guess you have to do it exactly when the three fold occurs? When I hit draw button, it only offered a draw instead claiming it.

 

Yeah, it has to be when the triple repetition occurs. It should allow you to offer just before making the move and then force the draw after the move but I don't know if that actually works correctly. Making the move and then draw should work but if you opponent moves too quickly, that may not be an option.