Castling into Check...

Sort:
Lagomorph
9497010838 wrote:
No one probably cares at this point, but I’m going to explain why FIDE rule 3.9 is self contradicting. The rule is stated verbatim in post 6 of this thread.

Sentence 1 basically states that a piece IS NOT PINNED when it comes to placing a check on an opponent’s king. What this means is that you can use that pinned piece to prevent the opponent’s king from taking another one of your pieces. That pinned piece protects the checking piece, or any other piece for that matter the opposing king might try to take.

Sentence 2 basically says the piece IS PINNED NO MATTER WHAT!!! Come he’ll or high water, a pinned piece is pinned, period. That’s what sentence 2 says.

The rule is very poorly written. It did not need to be written in two sentences. One sentence would’ve sufficed. It could’ve basically said:

“A piece is pinned when moving that piece would put your king in check, however the pin is released when it supports another piece that puts the opponent’s king in check”

Seriously lame. I might offer my services to FIDE. They need some editing help.

You are trying to read things into that rule which are not there.

Pinned (against it's own King) means a piece cannot move off a diagonal/rank/file and expose the king to check. It does not mean it mysteriously loses it's powers to control squares.

A bishop on b1 can control every square on the b1-h7 diagonal (assuming no other piece in the way). If the opponent's King is on that diagonal it is in check. if another piece is on that diagonal giving check to the opponent's King, the King cannot capture it. The Bishop has no need to move to perform either function.

If we now place the opponents rook on the a1 square, so the Bishop is pinned against his own King on say c1, the Bishops powers of control/check are still valid. All that has changed is he is no longer capable of moving.

Lagomorph
9497010838 wrote:


Rule 3.9 says, on the other hand that a piece isn’t pinned when it is supporting another piece that checks the opponent’s king in sentence one.


Perhaps chess, like English, is beyond your scope of understanding.

Scottrf

Even if it was a contradiction, which it isn’t, it’s obviously a case of precedent.

No matter what other rules apply, you cannot move into check.

Dunning-Kruger in full force on this thread.

Scottrf

If you’re as brilliant as you think you are, why don’t you put the effort into not playing terrible chess moves (and photography)?

maverick82d

It's funnier when someone castles into a 1 move mate !!

Lord-Of-The-Fleaz

it should be allowed. i mean we are allowed make a stalemate and in footy, own goals count, so we should be allowed selfmate ourselves.

Lord-Of-The-Fleaz

i will give you the patent! we have history in the making!

maverick82d

Castling is a king move ,and you can't move your king to a protected square.

drmrboss

airborne53 wrote:

Castling is a king move ,and you can't move your king to a protected square.

 

50Mark

I think the first taken king is the loser. 

Drunken_Shrimp

ha

50Mark
pfren wrote:
50Mark έγραψε:

I think the first taken king is the loser. 

 

The only loser in this thread is someone who made 22 posts, all of them filled with nonsense.

It seems a legal castling and lead white to instantaneous lose.

Thee_Ghostess_Lola
9497010838 wrote:
Of course, you’re asking this question theoretically. There are several positional examples where the rules fail in chess. This is the dumbest examples of all. Yet, no one questions these ridiculous miscuse that have existed for over a hundred years.
Here’s another one: bishops cant take a pawn en passant?

Another one: a pinned piece still,counts as a support backup to a check on your king. Even though the piece is pinned, because moving it would put your opponent’s king in check, that piece supports your opponent when they put you in check.

Chess isn’t perfect, but it’s about the closest thing we have.

I'm about to call you over there in OC & fill your cell speaker....grrr !

Thee_Ghostess_Lola
pfren wrote:

1.0-0-0 in that position is an instant draw. Try figuring out why.

Well, u just stole my Plan B....so -1 for you.

And btw, I too believe that ur too old to make a GM just like I'm almost too old to make........nvm.

Thee_Ghostess_Lola
pfren wrote:

Simply 1.0-0-0 is an illegal move, so white would normally lose in a blitz game. But as Black only has his king, it is a draw.

Not true. They say that 3.9 does not apply to speed games 'cuz players don't have time to hit the rewind button. Black's king CAN take white's king and legally declare that they won. IOW's, Black is not playing for 1/2 point here as you never are in blitz.....did u know that ?....u of all ppl ! 

Thee_Ghostess_Lola

....and btw, I just tried to call u. I got ur girl friday.

Thee_Ghostess_Lola
airborne53 wrote:

It's funnier when someone castles into a 1 move mate !!

...which is exactly what this is.

Thee_Ghostess_Lola
50Mark wrote:

I think the first taken king is the loser. 

....I feel peaceful. Thx Mark happy.png .

Anyway, let's do a revisit after dawn. GN....zzzz.

Thee_Ghostess_Lola

Okay, I slept kinda good & kinda not. Anyway....

Speaking of that, why can a pawn take a pawn en passant but a bishop can’t take a pawn en passant?

I know this is kinda dumb, but extending this to a rook (or horse) ?....

1. e2-e4   Rxp e.p. (...and Rook now roosts on e3 - pawn gone sad.png )

 

Thee_Ghostess_Lola
FlyingSandal wrote:

As Scottrf posted, moving into check is an illegal move.  Doesn't matter what sort of move results in being in check. Not sure why this is even a question.

There are no true ILLEGAL moves in chess !

It's like being a bank robberer (?). Crime pays ! (....if u don't get cot).

Do u know what happens if A makes an "illegal" move & then B makes their move....while the arbiter/TD is arguing-trying to use an expired coupon @ the latte stand ?

Nothing !....the game goes on. And it happens all the time - esp in blitz !

Stuff like this cannot go controlled unless ur playing someone on a bandstand riser.