20008 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Backgammon, Yatzy, and more!
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
played a game of chess today where my opponent castled. You can see a screen shot of the position on the board. One of the rules I found about castling is the following: The king moves through a square that is attacked by a piece of the opponen. Does the program used for playing chess on chess.com don't take this rue in consideration?
I took 2 screen shots to exemplify the positions where the castling took place.
Any help on the matter is much appreciated :)
The rule only applies to squares two to the left or right of the king. The opponent can attack b1 and you can still castle.
e could also castle Kingside,even though the rook is attacked
Here's the way to think about it. There are 6 things that must be met to be able to castle:
1) The King can not castle out of check
2) The King can not castle over check
3) The King can not castle into check
4) The King can not have previously moved
5) The Rook it is castling with can not have previously moved
6) There can not be any pieces of either color in between the King and Rook.
If all 6 of these restrictions are met, you can castle. Doesn't matter if the Rook is under attack, or jumping a sqaure that's under attack. Only restriction with the Rook is that it hasn't moved.
As others have said, the King didn't pass over any attacked squares, just the rook. To be fair, some famous Grandmaster--perhaps Tigran Petrosian-- was also confused about this rule and summoned the tournament director when his opponent castles in a position like yours! So don't feel bad.
I think it was Korchnoi?
Thanks a lot to you all for clarifying the matter!
Much appreciated : )
Well at least you've got that going for you
I just won a tournament!
by fantasychesspro a few minutes ago
POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE.
by CrecyWar a few minutes ago
Illegal Position and Cool Variant Challenge!
by incorrectname a few minutes ago
The biggest hurdle to chess improvement are books
by BlunderLots 3 minutes ago
9/24/2016 - Rada - Kostal, Prague 1942
by JennyZhu2007 6 minutes ago
6 masters who proved that chess kills your brain and your life - YOU ARE WARNED
by Pulpofeira 6 minutes ago
How many chess boards stand on felt pads?
by Schachmonkey 8 minutes ago
Is there racial descrimination in chess.com app visuals?
by DavidJSmith 18 minutes ago
Computer stuck in "thinking"
by Martin_Stahl 19 minutes ago
typo/bug in analysis
by rd42495 19 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2016 Chess.com
• Chess - English
Try the new Chess.com!
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!