Clarification on a couple of Time related rules

Sort:
Avatar of TheOldRuleKing
 
I wanted to get clarification if this rule is enforced here or not. Taking the diagram below as an example. White can not win only possibly draw.
 
1. If Black were to lose on time would the game be a draw? As Whites not efficient material to mate or at least 1 pawn on the board
 
2. With white having no chance of winning or not even trying to win but just tries to run out blacks clock. Could Black claim the draw?
 
I was in League, county and country matches back in England before I moved to the US. These two rules were enforce then. So I wanted to know if the same applies here. I've come closed to this in a couple of games not recently but I've always wondered.
 
 

 null

Avatar of MtTabor

White can win, theoretically.

Avatar of TheOldRuleKing
MtTabor wrote:

White can win, theoretically.

no they can't. They can't force the mate with Knight and bishop and  doesn't have a pawn on the board

Avatar of MtTabor

Yes, mate can be forced with Knight and Bishop. Check Wikipedia.

Avatar of cellomaster8
I agree with @MtTabor. B+N can mate a naked king
Avatar of Michael-Holm

Yeah if Black were to somehow lose all of his pieces then White would be able to checkmate with Knight and Bishop.

Avatar of Michael-Holm

Here's the "triangle" method:

 

Avatar of TheOldRuleKing

ok so I stand corrected it was a bad example. so take a piece off for White. IF black would lose on time and white doesn't have enough material to mate would the game be a draw if black lost on time

Avatar of woton

Take away either White's N or White's B, it depends on whose rules apply.  Under USCF rules, it's a draw if White has only a K+B or a K+N and there is no forced mate.  Under FIDE rules, it might be a win if White can show that checkmate is possible by any series of legal moves (someone smarter than me would have to figure that one out because you have to look at all possible combinations of moves).  Under Chess.com rules, it's a draw because K+B and K+N are considered insufficient material regardless of the position.

In general, if White doesn't have sufficient mating material, it's a draw.  USCF and Chess.com rules specify what constitutes insufficient material.  FIDE rules may require the player to figure it out.

Avatar of TheOldRuleKing
woton wrote:

Take away either White's N or White's B, it depends on whose rules apply.  Under USCF rules, it's a draw if White has only a K+B or a K+N and there is no forced mate.  Under FIDE rules, it might be a win if White can show that checkmate is possible by any series of legal moves (someone smarter than me would have to figure that one out because you have to look at all possible combinations of moves).  Under Chess.com rules, it's a draw because K+B and K+N are considered insufficient material regardless of the position.

In general, if White doesn't have sufficient mating material, it's a draw.  USCF and Chess.com rules specify what constitutes insufficient material.  FIDE rules may require the player to figure it out.

thank you