help - en -passant error ?

Sort:
Avatar of lopez316

Hi - I've got a daily game going on.

https://www.chess.com/daily/game/203461606

It won't allow me to take black's previous pawn move (f5) with my pawn on g6.

Am I missing something about the en passant rule ?

tks

Avatar of IMKeto

Your pawn has to be next to the pawn on f5.  Your pawn would have to be on either g5, or e5.

Avatar of ConstantPobedo
You have to en passant capture at the first opportunity. After another move happens, you lose the right to en passant capture.
Avatar of BlargDragon

For some insight, the purpose of the en passant rule was to prevent an opponent's pawn from being able to use a double move to skip past a threat from one of your pawns. It wasn't designed to apply in this case because even a single space pawn move by black (13...f6) would have moved it out of danger from your pawn.