How do I castle?

Sort:
Avatar of Grandstream

If anyone would be kind enough to post a link? I'm sure this question has been asked before. Or if you wouldn't mind explaining it? Thank-you! Also, MODS/ADMINS: I read in the Q&A that having two accounts is considered cheating...I don't see how you could cheat when it's one on one-- unless for ratings (to me that's a silly thing to do)...I prefer two, because I like having friends on one, and not the other (social anxiety comes and goes). Feel free to message me and I'll tell you the name of my other account, and if necessary-- delete this one. I live an hour away from civilization, population 300, please don't ban me...I'd like to receive an answer on how to castle before I (possibly) am asked to delete this account. Please give me time to comply, thank-you. (I don't know if it's my Galaxy S4, or what but I can't castle).

Thank-you kindly,

-AL Roker ;)

Avatar of Game_of_Pawns

Moving your King two spaces to where it will end up should castle.

Avatar of Rsava

You have to move your K first.

Move it two squares in the direction you want to castle (as Game_of_Pawns states) and chess.com will move the R for you. The program/website knows you want to castle becasue the K can only move 1 square normally.

And yes, having two accounts is definitely against the rules. There are plenty of ways to cheat using two accounts. 

Avatar of Darth_Algar

Also you cannot castle if ether the King or the Rook has been moved (You can move the opposite rook, but not the one you want to castle with). And you cannot castle out of check or through check (meaning you can't castle if doing so with pass your King through an attacked square).

Avatar of Rsava

Yes, I believe it is. 

 

FIDE rules:

4.4

If a player having the move:

 

a.

deliberately touches his king and rook he must castle on that side if it is legal to do so

 

b.

deliberately touches a rook and then his king he is not allowed to castle on that side on that move and the situation shall be governed by Article 4.3.a

Avatar of ilikecapablanca

If you move the rook first, you end up moving just your rook.

Avatar of Rsava

While this is correct, you should always play by the stricter rules (while knowing the less restrictive rules).

If you get in the habit of touching your R first and you are in a tournament that uses FIDE rules you will b in trouble.