Hello, I'm posting here since I didn't find any other place (well, Game Analysis maybe but I'm not asking for deep analysis. I know I made more than a few mistakes that cost me the win but anyways..)
I ran in game where this happened
Basically the black was next on turn and was obviously going to promote the pawn to queen, however before doing so he ran out of time and so ruling was (obviously) timeout. What I didn't understand is why it was ruled as "Game drawn - timeout vs insufficient material". Shouldn't the material be well more than sufficient given that the pawn can be promoted to queen, or should it be ruled according to current situation on board (While we all can agree that pawn+king isn't able to mate, given right circumstances - as above - the pawn isn't just another pawn and the position is mateable)
TLDR;
Which of following is true?
a) Draw by insufficient material when timing out is calculated not accounting promotions (which would be very stupid)
or
b) It's a bug in chess.com and should've been ruled as white win by time
Thanks in advance.
PS. Don't try to analyze the position, the blunders made WILL give you headache and if I wanted analysis this would be on another board
You said he ran out of time. Normally you would have won but you had insufficient material to mate. Therefore, you had to settle for a draw.
Hello, I'm posting here since I didn't find any other place (well, Game Analysis maybe but I'm not asking for deep analysis. I know I made more than a few mistakes that cost me the win but anyways..)
I ran in game where this happened
Basically the black was next on turn and was obviously going to promote the pawn to queen, however before doing so he ran out of time and so ruling was (obviously) timeout. What I didn't understand is why it was ruled as "Game drawn - timeout vs insufficient material". Shouldn't the material be well more than sufficient given that the pawn can be promoted to queen, or should it be ruled according to current situation on board (While we all can agree that pawn+king isn't able to mate, given right circumstances - as above - the pawn isn't just another pawn and the position is mateable)
TLDR;
Which of following is true?
a) Draw by insufficient material when timing out is calculated not accounting promotions (which would be very stupid)
or
b) It's a bug in chess.com and should've been ruled as white win by time
Thanks in advance.
PS. Don't try to analyze the position, the blunders made WILL give you headache and if I wanted analysis this would be on another board