The touch-move rule

Sort:
Avatar of FlappyPantsChess

Hi. I have a question regarding the touch-move rule (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Touch-move_rule)

The rule is that "...if a player deliberately touches a piece on the board when it is their turn to move, then they must move or capture that piece if it is legal to do so. If it is the player's piece that was touched, it must be moved if they have a legal move. If the opponent's piece was touched, it must be captured if it can be captured with a legal move."

Does this rule also apply if player A picks up one of his/her pieces and intentionally pushes one of player B's pieces partly/or completely out of the square by using the piece and not their hand - as in not a "direct" touch?

Avatar of Martin_Stahl
WhitePortion wrote:

Hi. I have a question regarding the touch-move rule (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Touch-move_rule)

 

The rule is that "...if a player deliberately touches a piece on the board when it is their turn to move, then they must move or capture that piece if it is legal to do so. If it is the player's piece that was touched, it must be moved if they have a legal move. If the opponent's piece was touched, it must be captured if it can be captured with a legal move."

 

Does this rule also apply if player A picks up one of his/her pieces and intentionally pushes one of player B's pieces partly/or completely out of the square by using the piece and not their hand - as in not a "direct" touch?

 

I would say that would count as touching both pieces. Of course, I'm not a FIDE Arbiter happy.png

Avatar of FlappyPantsChess
Martin_Stahl wrote:

I would say that would count as touching both pieces. Of course, I'm not a FIDE Arbiter

 

I agree, but I'm not able to find any reference to this anywhere. It would be weird if this was something that had to be clarified every time? What does touch mean in this case?

Avatar of Colby-Covington

The famous Nakamura touch immediately hit my mind when I read the title lol!

Avatar of JamesColeman

Does this rule also apply if player A picks up one of his/her pieces and intentionally pushes one of player B's pieces partly/or completely out of the square by using the piece and not their hand - as in not a "direct" touch?

Yes it does.