What happens if you claim flag after completing an illegal move?

Sort:
Avatar of dedennis

I've had this over the board game lately in a time control of 5+0 (blitz) and the following situation occured: i've ran out of time for a couple of moves, but my opponent has not yet realised this, so we play some more moves. Then finally he realises this and claims the victory, whilst capturing a defended pawn with his king (putting his king in check, so an illegal move). He has pressed the clock afterwards. The clock is stopped and the arbiter was called, but he also didn't quite know what to do.

What should be the right result here? I've looked at the FIDE chess rules and I could not find anything about any such specific case, maybe anyone knows?

Big thanks to the one who can explain it to me!

Avatar of wanmokewan

Personally, I would say to revert the position before he made his illegal move, enforce the touch move if it applies, hit his clock THEN claim the win by flag.