Castling when only the rook passes through a square being attacked

Sort:
Avatar of iKeemstar
What??? Is this a mistake in coding?
 

He castle queen side through check...wtf!!!!!

Avatar of Stolheis

His king is neither in- or moving through check. Perfectly legal move.

Avatar of iKeemstar

Rook moved through check though. Castling rules say you can't move through check.

Avatar of Stolheis

That is true, but only for the kimg piece. The O-O-O is perfectly legal when the rook is attacked, or moves through an attacked square.

Avatar of iKeemstar
Stolheis wrote:

That is true, but only for the kimg piece. The O-O-O is perfectly legal when the rook is attacked, or moves through an attacked square.

No dude you're wrong. Check applies to rook and king. Rook can't go through check when castling.

Avatar of the_johnjohn

iKeemstar wrote:

Stolheis wrote:

That is true, but only for the kimg piece. The O-O-O is perfectly legal when the rook is attacked, or moves through an attacked square.

No dude you're wrong. Check applies to rook and king. Rook can't go through check when castling.

You think chess.com has coded the chess moves wrong? Put it in any chess engines and it will be allowed. Did they code them wrong too. What seems more likely, that everyone is wrong and the noob you are is right? Please...

Avatar of Pikelemi
iKeemstar wrote:
Stolheis wrote:

That is true, but only for the kimg piece. The O-O-O is perfectly legal when the rook is attacked, or moves through an attacked square.

No dude you're wrong. Check applies to rook and king. Rook can't go through check when castling.

 

You can't check a rook FFS! Learn the rules!

Avatar of Stolheis

Well, at least I'm in good company. If that is the case, the arbiter between Korchnoi-Karpov candidates 1974 was also wrong.

Avatar of elympia

I agree, that has always been my understanding - neither the rook nor the king can move through an attacked square in castling.

Avatar of iKeemstar
the_johnjohn wrote:
iKeemstar wrote:
Stolheis wrote:

That is true, but only for the kimg piece. The O-O-O is perfectly legal when the rook is attacked, or moves through an attacked square.

No dude you're wrong. Check applies to rook and king. Rook can't go through check when castling.

You think chess.com has coded the chess moves wrong? Put it in any chess engines and it will be allowed. Did they code them wrong too. What seems more likely, that everyone is wrong and the noob you are is right? Please...

You're 1400 blitz. Enough said.

Avatar of iKeemstar
Pikelemi wrote:
iKeemstar wrote:
Stolheis wrote:

That is true, but only for the kimg piece. The O-O-O is perfectly legal when the rook is attacked, or moves through an attacked square.

No dude you're wrong. Check applies to rook and king. Rook can't go through check when castling.

 

You can't check a rook FFS! Learn the rules!

I think I'd know the rules better than a 712 rated blitz player. 

Avatar of MrUlekleiv

You are wrong. You can't check a rook, thus a rook can legally move through an attacked square. 

See the following brilliant article by Serper:
https://www.chess.com/article/view/do-grandmasters-know-the-rules-of-chess

Take a look at question 4 happy.png It's a common mistake, so don't be embarrassed.

Avatar of Pikelemi
iKeemstar wrote:
Pikelemi wrote:
iKeemstar wrote:
Stolheis wrote:

That is true, but only for the kimg piece. The O-O-O is perfectly legal when the rook is attacked, or moves through an attacked square.

No dude you're wrong. Check applies to rook and king. Rook can't go through check when castling.

 

You can't check a rook FFS! Learn the rules!

I think I'd know the rules better than a 712 rated blitz player. 

 

Said by the 800 rated rapid player ?

Avatar of PRS01

Well, dude, When the ROCK is captured, it does nothing to the castling.

I advise you learn the rules again.

Avatar of MrUlekleiv

And btw, act up. Don't be such a rude troll when someone is answering your question in the forum.

Avatar of iKeemstar
sailing2001 wrote:

Well, dude, When the ROCK is captured, it does nothing to the castling.

I advise you learn the rules again.

what is a ROCK LOLOLOLOL

Avatar of Pikelemi
iKeemstar wrote:
sailing2001 wrote:

Well, dude, When the ROCK is captured, it does nothing to the castling.

I advise you learn the rules again.

what is a ROCK LOLOLOLOL

 

null

Avatar of the_johnjohn
iKeemstar wrote:
the_johnjohn wrote:
iKeemstar wrote:
Stolheis wrote:

That is true, but only for the kimg piece. The O-O-O is perfectly legal when the rook is attacked, or moves through an attacked square.

No dude you're wrong. Check applies to rook and king. Rook can't go through check when castling.

You think chess.com has coded the chess moves wrong? Put it in any chess engines and it will be allowed. Did they code them wrong too. What seems more likely, that everyone is wrong and the noob you are is right? Please...

You're 1400 blitz. Enough said.

Go on and continue making a complete fool of yourself in public like this. What's next, the earth is flat?

Avatar of iKeemstar

What's more foolish than a 1400 blitz rating? I don't really know.

Avatar of Pikelemi
iKeemstar wrote:

What's more foolish than a 1400 blitz rating? I don't really know.

 

A 800 rapid rating. 

This forum topic has been locked