Why Canchu En Passant Outta Check ?

Sort:
Thee_Ghostess_Lola

Watch...

KetoOn1963

Because black is still in check.

Thee_Ghostess_Lola

ok. white just played Qb5+  

now...if i play 1...c5 then white has the option to play 2. pxp e.p. and the game continues.

Nate6586

My guess is that the white pawn on the d file doesn't have to accept the en passant. The white queen could just dip down to the 8th rank on the next move and have the king in check again.  

Thee_Ghostess_Lola

wait a sec. I DONT KNOW what white is gonna play !

Thee_Ghostess_Lola

ok. look in the FIDE rules. go right now. they DO NOT address this !

KetoOn1963
Thee_Ghostess_Lola wrote:

ok. white just played Qb5+  

now...if i play 1...c5 then white has the option to play 2. pxp e.p. and the game continues.

1...c5 is an illegal move.  Black is still in check.

Thee_Ghostess_Lola
Nate6586 wrote:

My guess is that the white pawn on the d file doesn't have to accept the en passant. The white queen could just dip down to the 8th rank on the next move and have the king in check again.  

but FIDE rules assume NOTHING...thats their hallmark !

Thee_Ghostess_Lola
KetoOn1963 wrote:
Thee_Ghostess_Lola wrote:

ok. white just played Qb5+  

now...if i play 1...c5 then white has the option to play 2. pxp e.p. and the game continues.

1...c5 is an illegal move.  Black is still in check.

and thats my argument !...it can become a legal move 'depending' on white's choice to proceed !

Nate6586

I just noticed that @KetoOn1963.  The king would still be in check. the move c5 by white in that circumstance would be an illegal move. 

Thee_Ghostess_Lola

you see ?....if i played 1...c6 then the game continues without any questions about legality, right ?

KetoOn1963

Now 1...c6 is a legal move.

Nate6586

That is true. If you played c6 then white would play Qxc6+.  

Thee_Ghostess_Lola

this isnt a 2500 elo question. it more lyka 1000 one.

Thee_Ghostess_Lola
Nate6586 wrote:

That is true. If you played c6 then white would play Qxc6+.  

but that cant be assumed ! white may take with pawn.

EscherehcsE

Ya gotta wachout for those canchus...

Thee_Ghostess_Lola

consider this...

 

Thee_Ghostess_Lola

now white CANT take w/ queen !

Typewriter44
Thee_Ghostess_Lola wrote:
KetoOn1963 wrote:
Thee_Ghostess_Lola wrote:

ok. white just played Qb5+  

now...if i play 1...c5 then white has the option to play 2. pxp e.p. and the game continues.

1...c5 is an illegal move.  Black is still in check.

and thats my argument !...it can become a legal move 'depending' on white's choice to proceed !

With that logic, checkmate doesn't exist. I can put my king in check, because my opponent might not capture my king.

Nate6586

It is a very interesting question that you asked with this puzzle.  It makes you think.