Why Canchu En Passant Outta Check ?

Sort:
KetoOn1963

1...Rb5+ and black is winning.

Thee_Ghostess_Lola

iows, this setup is kinda lyka a 'help-outcheck' problem. black is receiving help to remove the check by their opponent. 

Typewriter44
Thee_Ghostess_Lola wrote:

now white CANT take w/ queen !

It can't legally be white's move in that position, because black is in check

Thee_Ghostess_Lola
KetoOn1963 wrote:

1...Rb5+ and black is winning.

again...its not the point. its all about whether or not 1...c5 is truly illegal.

Typewriter44
Thee_Ghostess_Lola wrote:
KetoOn1963 wrote:

1...Rb5+ and black is winning.

again...its not the point. its all about whether or not 1...c5 is truly illegal.

You cannot make a move that puts you or leaves you in check. It is as simple as that.

Typewriter44

and as for the forum title, you can

 

Thee_Ghostess_Lola

ok. lemme say it another way. en passant is one a those hellaweird rules, right ?

ok. it allows white the option to decide on black pawn's fate. its slightly different from 1...c6. and its the only move in chess that allows white such an option.  

Typewriter44
Thee_Ghostess_Lola wrote:

ok. it allows white the option to decide on black pawn's fate. 

No. c5 in OP position is illegal.

gullupakka

after c5 the queen will take the king which is not a concept in chess

Srimurugan108

 Actually I feel that en passent is a very tricky thing to

do

Martin_Stahl
Thee_Ghostess_Lola wrote:
KetoOn1963 wrote:
Thee_Ghostess_Lola wrote:

ok. white just played Qb5+  

now...if i play 1...c5 then white has the option to play 2. pxp e.p. and the game continues.

1...c5 is an illegal move.  Black is still in check.

and thats my argument !...it can become a legal move 'depending' on white's choice to proceed !

 

In that position it is black to move. The only legal options are c6 or moving the king. There is no rule ambiguity there.

gullupakka

after c5 the king is still in check and IN CHESS YOU HAVE AN OPTION TO EN PASSANT OR NOT so.... the queen can literally capture the king so it is kind of another type of chekmate because you cannot be in check straight when it is ur opponents move too!! so c5 is illegal and if chess.com staff made some variant counting ur idea which i totally dont understand then.... i guess you can add ur ideas!

Thee_Ghostess_Lola

okay i revised it earlier. see #17 post where white cannot take w/ queen.

Typewriter44
Thee_Ghostess_Lola wrote:

okay i revised it earlier. see #17 post where white cannot take w/ queen.

The position is illegal. In order for that position to be reached, black must make a move that leaves or puts himself in check.

Thee_Ghostess_Lola

FIDE Rulebook

3.7 d.   A pawn attacking a square crossed by an opponent’s pawn which has advanced two
squares in one move from its original square may capture this opponent’s pawn as
though the latter had been moved only one square.

Thee_Ghostess_Lola

...meaning that its undefined as tho the black pawn is resting at c6 or c5.  

Thee_Ghostess_Lola

...leaving the choice per white on how to interpret black's move !

iows, if white proceeds by taking the pawn via en passant then it is no longer an illegal move. on the converse....it is now a perfectly legal move !!

now. the question becomes...wuz it ever an illegal move ??

Typewriter44
Thee_Ghostess_Lola wrote:

FIDE Rulebook

3.7 d.   A pawn attacking a square crossed by an opponent’s pawn which has advanced two
squares in one move from its original square may capture this opponent’s pawn as
though the latter had been moved only one square.

Meaning IF that position was legal, then dxc6 would be legal. But c5 is not a legal move

Thee_Ghostess_Lola

saying, blacks move becomes the interpretation of whites wishes. iows, the balls (err, pawn) in white's court as to whether the move is illegal or not.

Typewriter44

No it's not. White does not decide what moves are legal or not in any scenario