It seems like if black played a move, lets say 33...Rd7 that he's inviting 34.g4 which will make the rooks come off anyway because e6 will be hanging.
If black's rook could infiltrate on the d file and cause some problems (and if e5 wouldn't be a nice passer itself after e6 is given up) then the rooks may have been able to stay on.
Rxd6, creating a passed pawn on the 6th rank
for Topalov).
I don't understand this move(okay, I grasp
very few moves in this complex game) but
I thought the rule of thumb was to avoid
passed pawns. Is there compensation for
Anand I am missing here?