Why did the Three Fold Repetiton Rule not apply?

Sort:
R88

Would someone be kind enough to view my last game against rooshansol45 and explain to me why the Three Fold Repetition rule did not apply to moves 41 through 53? I went to wikipedia and the Three Fold Rule is much more complex than I understood. There are aspects to it I do not understand and I do not understand what aspects of the rule apply to this game. Any clarification would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Metastable

Under "official" rules, a draw by threefold repetion must be explicitly claimed by a player and is not automagically awarded. The chess.com computer system follows this - you have to hit the draw button yourself to claim it.  If the computer detects that it's a valid threefold it will give you the draw immediately when you hit the button instead of offering it to the opponent.

stanhope13

I was told you have to apply, for a 3 move draw when i first encoutered this rule, but apply to whom, i don,t know.

R88

Thank you, I do not think I hit the "draw" button. I didn't realize one had to apply for the draw. I thought it would be automatically applied by the chess computer after the repetitive moves. Thank you again.