no
Can a chess pice take its own color?

wow, not very trusting, you ask on the CHESS.com forums, a website where people come to play chess and talk about chess, and you need people to give a source for a simple question like that!

From the USCF Official Rules of Chess, 1987:
I.6 The General Definition of the Move
A. With the exception of castling (I.7.A.2) and promotion of a pawn (I.7.F.4), a move is the transfer of a piece from one square to another square that is either vacant or occupied by an opponent's piece.
Since taking one's own piece falls outside the definition above, and no special permission is granted elsewhere in the rules, it is considered an illegal move.
I'm sure there are other rule books, including a newer version of the USCF rules, however I'm confident they will all be consistent with the one quoted above.

not legal as far as i'm concerned however...
if you still have your queen, and your opponent doesn't, and your pawn reaches their end of the board, and you get their queen (theorizing that there isn't one of your color left) (yes, it is possible to have 2 queens), couldn't their color then attack them? ...............?

If your pawn reaches the last rank, you can turn it into a piece. You don't get an opponent's piece, you just gain another copy of your own. Then it is your opponent's turn.
Read this thoroughly before you ask any more questions:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chess

I really need help with this you guys, If i am black can my rook take my own black pawn? Can you take your own colors pice? I used it to cheak mate my dad and he says its not possible. I really need you guys to anwser this question, and please only awnser if you can source it and if your sure!
Thank you
-Jared
hello do u mean u both playing on chess com on different computers?

not legal as far as i'm concerned however...
if you still have your queen, and your opponent doesn't, and your pawn reaches their end of the board, and you get their queen (theorizing that there isn't one of your color left) (yes, it is possible to have 2 queens), couldn't their color then attack them? ...............?
Sorry, the_raider_of_rock, this is incorrect. From the U.S. Chess Federation's Official Rules of Chess, 5th Edition (page 16):
8F6. Pawn Promotion. On reaching the last rank, a pawn must immediately be exchanged, as part of the same move, for the player's choice of a queen, a rook, a bishop, or a knight of the same color as the pawn. This exchange of the pawn for another piece is called promotion, and the effect of the new piece is immediate. For instance, it may give check or serve to block a check. The promotion piece is placed on the eighth-rank square to which the pawn was moved.
TD TIP: Note that promotion is in no way related to other pieces remaining on the chessboard; for example, a player may have two or more queens, three or more knights, or two bishops on diagonals of the same color. The choice of the piece is not final until it has been placed on the board and released.

I really need help with this you guys, If i am black can my rook take my own black pawn? Can you take your own colors pice? I used it to cheak mate my dad and he says its not possible. I really need you guys to anwser this question, and please only awnser if you can source it and if your sure!
Thank you
-Jared
hello do u mean u both playing on chess com on different computers?
Nope in real life

Anyway, I think it's technically illegal to play your dad so you should stop.
Big fish also eat little fish. Is your father much larger then you?

Anyway, I think it's technically illegal to play your dad so you should stop.
Big fish also eat little fish. Is your father much larger then you?
not really no.

Anyway, I think it's technically illegal to play your dad so you should stop.
Big fish also eat little fish. Is your father much larger then you?
not really no.
Then, like pieces of the same color, you are safe!

Why didn't you just Google this question and settle it right then and there? Come on!
what fun whould that be?? :)

not legal as far as i'm concerned however...
if you still have your queen, and your opponent doesn't, and your pawn reaches their end of the board, and you get their queen (theorizing that there isn't one of your color left) (yes, it is possible to have 2 queens), couldn't their color then attack them? ...............?
Sorry, the_raider_of_rock, this is incorrect. From the U.S. Chess Federation's Official Rules of Chess, 5th Edition (page 16):
8F6. Pawn Promotion. On reaching the last rank, a pawn must immediately be exchanged, as part of the same move, for the player's choice of a queen, a rook, a bishop, or a knight of the same color as the pawn. This exchange of the pawn for another piece is called promotion, and the effect of the new piece is immediate. For instance, it may give check or serve to block a check. The promotion piece is placed on the eighth-rank square to which the pawn was moved.
TD TIP: Note that promotion is in no way related to other pieces remaining on the chessboard; for example, a player may have two or more queens, three or more knights, or two bishops on diagonals of the same color. The choice of the piece is not final until it has been placed on the board and released.
I think the question was more philosophical than practical. The title of the thread is "Can a piece take its own color?" and the answer, in this case, is yes. Think about it.

Why didn't you just Google this question and settle it right then and there? Come on!
To skunkape:
I think what gbidariwas trying to say is that while most of the Chess.com users are friendly and willing to share their knowledge, it may be quicker to access several on-line resources in order to answer a basic procedural question. If you need the advice of more experienced players on topics that are not specifically addressed by Google, Wikipedia, or other common internet sources, this would be a great place to ask for that guidance. Be forewarned, however, that not all information you get from this site (or any other source) will be completely error free so it will still be up to you to do your homework!
Best of luck as you learn more about this great game!

not legal as far as i'm concerned however...
if you still have your queen, and your opponent doesn't, and your pawn reaches their end of the board, and you get their queen (theorizing that there isn't one of your color left) (yes, it is possible to have 2 queens), couldn't their color then attack them? ...............?
To ivandh :
You make an interesting observation, in that the pawn is "exchanged" for another piece of the same color. Some may consider that this would in fact meet the criteria posed by the title of the thread, "Can a piece take it's own color?"
In reading through the_raider_of_rock's post, I don't believe that was the point he intended to make, since he suggested :
"if you still have your queen, and your opponent doesn't, and your pawn reaches their end of the board, and you get their queen"
It appeared to me that since the opponent doesn't have a queen, but when the pawn promotes "you get their queen", it was being suggested that you could promote one of your pawns to an opponent's queen. I apologize if I am mistaken in this regard, but since a new player was asking for basic information I thought it would be important to correct erroneous information.
THANKS FOR YOUR INPUT!
I really need help with this you guys, If i am black can my rook take my own black pawn? Can you take your own colors pice? I used it to cheak mate my dad and he says its not possible. I really need you guys to anwser this question, and please only awnser if you can source it and if your sure!
Thank you
-Jared