...in order to explain a little better, I had lost that game on timeout, but I thought it would be a draw due to insufficient materials.
Thank You!
...in order to explain a little better, I had lost that game on timeout, but I thought it would be a draw due to insufficient materials.
Thank You!
...in order to explain a little better, I had lost that game on timeout, but I thought it would be a draw due to insufficient materials.
Thank You!
The site used to only look at the material the side with time had but it looks like it has changed to also look at the opponent's material.
I assume you mean the following game.
https://www.chess.com/live/game/3703508472
Under FIDE rules, if mate is possible under any series of legal moves, by the side with time, the other player will lose on timeout.
Under the USCF rules, which the site has more closely aligned with historically, as long as the side that timed out has a pawn, two knights is considered sufficient material, so it must be that the site has decided to more closely align with that ruling. Though the support article hasn't been updated with that information.
https://support.chess.com/customer/en/portal/articles/1444798-how-do-i-claim-a-draw-
...in order to explain a little better, I had lost that game on timeout, but I thought it would be a draw due to insufficient materials.
Thank You!
The site used to only look at the material the side with time had but it looks like it has changed to also look at the opponent's material.
I assume you mean the following game.
https://www.chess.com/live/game/3703508472
Under FIDE rules, if mate is possible under any series of legal moves, by the side with time, the other player will lose on timeout.
Under the USCF rules, which the site has more closely aligned with historically, as long as the side that timed out has a pawn, two knights is considered sufficient material, so it must be that the site has decided to more closely align with that ruling. Though the support article hasn't been updated with that information.
https://support.chess.com/customer/en/portal/articles/1444798-how-do-i-claim-a-draw-
The first position is draw but you can still lose as follow.
Because of this white may try it to win and you can not claim this a draw.
Dear everyone,
I have recently lost a game where the opponent had only two knights, nothing else, no pawns. Is that according to the rules? I thought it's automatically a draw.
Thank You for the feedback!