Claim draw- insufficient material

Sort:
Avatar of alexanderthemonk

If your opponent has insufficient material to mate, shouldn't you be allowed to claim a draw?

For example, if he has only his king and bishop left, and I have pawns, but am about to lose on time, shouldn't I be able to claim a draw?

Avatar of TadDude
alexanderthemonk wrote:

If your opponent has insufficient material to mate, shouldn't you be allowed to claim a draw?

For example, if he has only his king and bishop left, and I have pawns, but am about to lose on time, shouldn't I be able to claim a draw?


With pawns on board you can helpmate.

This FIDE rule looks close.

10.2 - If the player, having the move, has less than two minutes left on his clock, he may claim a draw before his flag falls. He shall summon the arbiter and may stop the clocks. (See Article 6.12.b)  

a. If the arbiter agrees the opponent is making no effort to win the game by normal means, or that it is not possible to win by normal means, then he shall declare the game drawn. Otherwise he shall postpone his decision or reject the claim.

Close but no cigar. Who is the arbiter? Will you wait four weeks for staff to decide?

The site has recently changed the insufficient material policy but pawns are still bad to keep on board.  http://www.chess.com/forum/view/help-support/false-draw-system-claim