Correcting a TD Error -- Can It Be Done? How Long Does the TD Have To Correct His/Her Error

Sort:
swweber

I have a question for the TDs out there.  Below is what happened.  At the bottom I ask my question. happy.png

Scenario: Game plays to a 3-repetition position.  Black claims that it's 3-repetition.  White disagrees.  After some discussion, black chooses to continue the game.  Now, I already know that by USCF rules, Black's ability to claim a draw is now gone unless the repeated position appears again.  (Note: it did not.)

3 moves later, black drops a minor piece and is suddenly in a poor position.  Two moves later, Black now goes to the TD -- rather angrily -- that he should be awarded a draw.  After discussion -- including protesting from white -- the TD incorrectly awards the draw.

White ... a scholastic player with significant tournament experience ... is very upset knowing that she was the victim of an incorrect decision and leaves the tournament area.  White's parent and coach go to the TD's boss and request that the decision be reviewed.  After review, the decision is made to reverse the draw and instead award the game to white.  Black ... an adult who hasn't played USCF in more than 20 years ... becomes angry and aggressive towards the two TDs, white's coach and parent.  The head TD holds his ground.  Black withdraws from the event.

So now my questions please:

  1. Black has since filed an official protest to the USCF suggesting that the decision to change the TD's call of "draw" was inappropriate.  Hence the title of this post.  In most other sports, the desire to get a call correct is a primary principal in the rules.  That's why most sports have review of decisions via video.  What is the official USCF rule regarding the TD's ability to correct an obvious error -- which in this case is the awarding of a 3-repetition draw 5 moves after the repeated position?  Is the TD not permitted to correct an error?  I certainly hope that it is permissible.
  2. If Black had behaved more appropriately and not withdrawn, what's the proper procedure here to resolve the game?  Note: I would expect the rule to be that the score sheets (notation) would be consulted and the clocks set as best as possible -- with two minutes being added to White's clock for the improper 3-repetition draw claim -- and the game continued.  Is that right?

Thank you in advance for any insight you can provide.  Disclaimer:  I am the (other) parent of White in this story.  I was not present at this event.  I was, however, a six-sport high school and college referee and umpire, so I have deep respect for the rules -- both the written and the spirit of them.  Further, I want to be sure to counsel my child on how to handle this situation correctly in case it ever comes up again.

notmtwain

I would go back to the score sheets and if there was a threefold repetition, I would have awarded the draw.

Allowing inexperienced players to be bullied cannot be the right answer.

 

swweber

Respectfully @notmtwain, you are completely missing the point.  My 8th grade daughter (White) was bullied by black (adult coach, teacher, attorney).  Neither player is "inexperienced" in this case.  In his letter to the USCF, he claimed to have played in Europe all during the past 20 years.

 

And are you really saying that you would purposely allow black to circumvent the rules and reward them with a draw after failing to call over the TD at the appropriate time?  Punish white for doing nothing illegal?

 

I believe that most TDs would, in fact, NOT grant the draw -- that most would follow the rules and penalize black for the improper draw claim.  But I'm not asking about opinions.  I'm asking for what the official USCF rule is regarding the ability to correct an obvious TD error.

notmtwain

You haven't answered the question of whether or not there was an actual threefold repetition when all this started.

You can argue the mechanics and legalities of claims and reporting but it makes sense to start from that basic point.

 

swweber

Was there a threefold repetition during the game?  Yes there was ... we discovered during game analysis later that five moves prior to when Black actually called the TD, there had been a position that repeated a third time.  This is the point where the two participants disagreed, but black decided not to call the TD over at that time, instead opting to continue playing.  It was only five moves later, after black blundered a minor piece and (likely) recognized that he was likely going to lose, did he decide to attempt to make the draw claim.

The USCF rules are crystal clear here ... a 3-repetition draw can only be made by a player while they are still on turn and the current (or next) position creates the 3-repetition position.  The rules are also clear that, in the event of any disagreement while playing, the TD should be summoned immediately.  That did not happen here.

D2-D2

White and the 2nd TD was Correct

D2-D2

the draw was not claimed, so it did not happen (form the TD's point of view)

swweber

So, @D2-D2, this means that any TD can correct an error -- at least before the next round starts?  Could the TD have corrected it later in the tournament?

If Black hadn't withdrawn ... is the awarding of a win to white appropriate?  I would think >NOT< ... that the proper procedure would be reset the board and finish the game?

Please ... we all know that the initial draw call was wrong ... my questions focus on what happens once the TDs decide that the call was wrong.  happy.png  Thanks!

D2-D2

I would get a rule book if i were you. (some are cheaper then the listed $30)

 

     if or If Black hadn't withdrawn it does not effect the appeal, it implies that he left the playing site (their is a 1/2 hour expiration)

 

     see rule 21H2

D2-D2

titled "Director may reserve decision" so.....

 

Director may reserve decision

D2-D2

that is if the 2st Director is the 1nd Director's "Boss"