Fedoseev Wins 17th Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix

Fedoseev Wins 17th Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix

| 10 | News

GM Vladimir Fedoseev won the 17th Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix, his second in the series. The Russian grandmaster beat his compatriot GM Ian Nepomniachtchi 1.5-0.5 in the knockout final and climbed to fifth place in the overall GP standings.

The next Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix will be played on September 29 at 10 a.m. Pacific / 19:00 Central Europe.

The 17th Speed Chess Grand Prix tournament was held on Tuesday, September 22, with 707 participants. GM Hikaru Nakamura won the Swiss part as the only player to score 9/10.

The live broadcast of the tournament.

In the Swiss part, Nakamura was still the Nakamura we know. He dominated the event and took down Fedoseev in round nine, not yet knowing there was more to follow... 

In round seven, Nepomniachtchi and GM Nodirbek Abdusattorov had mutual chess blindness over the g8-square.

Nepo was also involved in this crazy game with GM Alexei Shirov:

Fedoseev, Nakamura, and Nepomniachtchi qualified for the final eight knockout together with GMs Alexandr Fier, Alexey Sarana, Giga Quparadze, Sergei Zigalko, and IM Oleg Vastrukhin.

September 22 Speed Chess Grand Prix | Swiss Final Standings (Top 20)

Rk Fed Title Name Username Score SB
1 GM Hikaru Nakamura @Hikaru 9 60.5
2 GM Ian Nepomniachtchi @lachesisQ 8.5 51.5
3 GM Alexandr Fier @A-Fier 8.5 51.25
4 GM Vladimir Fedoseev @Bigfish1995 8.5 49
5 GM Aleksey Sarana @mishanick 8.5 48.25
6 GM Giga Quparadze @GigaQuparadze 8.5 46.75
7 GM Sergei Zhigalko @Zhigalko_Sergei 8.5 43.25
8 IM Oleg Vastrukhin @kuban1991 8.5 41.75
9 IM Le Tuan Minh @wonderfultime 8 47.5
10 GM Rasmus Svane @rasmussvane 8 46
10 GM Artem Timofeev @TimofeevAr 8 46
12 GM David Paravyan @David_Paravyan 8 45.5
13 GM Arjun Erigaisi @GHANDEEVAM2003 8 45
14 GM Raunak Sadhwani @RaunakSadhwani2005 8 44.5
15 IM Alexander Kachko @Alexander_Kachko 8 43.5
15 GM Johan-Sebastian Christiansen @JSPrepz 8 43.5
17 GM Le Quang Liem @LiemLe 8 42.5
18 GM Sergio Barrientos Chavarria @GmSergioBarrientos 8 39
19 GM Maxime Vachier-Lagrave @LyonBeast 7.5 48.25
20 GM Maksim Chigaev @Fandorine 7.5 47.75

In the quarterfinals, consisting of a single 3+1 game, Nakamura defeated Vastrukhin while Fedoseev beat Sarana. In the semifinal, the American GM then first beat Fedoseev as Black and then outplayed him again as White.

And then this happened.

"He was half a move away from winning this match. It's really crazy," said Fedoseev, who added that he still had a terrible position in the tournament: "Then I had to play Nakamura in bullet; that's also not a birthday gift for me!"

No doubt still annoyed by missing a certain win, Nakamura tilted in that bullet game:

Against Nepomniachtchi it was different, and all about playing good chess. Doing the impossible (beating Nakamura in bullet) gave Fedoseev wings as he scored 1.5-0.5 against the world number-four with two good games. 

Fedoseev won the $1,000 first prize and 12 GP points that put him in fifth place in the GP standings. "Actually, it was a really important tournament for me to have this chance. I really want to finally qualify for this SCC," he said.

The Russian player also stated that most important for him was beating Nakamura. "I cannot play against Nakamura, and you can see our scores on"

Nepomniachtchi took second ($500 and eight GP points). Fier and Nakamura both won $200 and four GP points, while the losing quarterfinalists each earned $100 and two GP points. 

GM Alexandra Kosteniuk (@ChessQueen) won the $100 prize for being the top-scoring female player.

Below are the current Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix standings. At the end of the season, the players with the four best scores will advance to the Speed Chess Championship to be hosted later this year.

Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix | Standings After September 22 (Top 20)

# Title Fed Name Username Swiss
1 GM Hikaru Nakamura @Hikaru 69 56 125
2 GM Vladislav Artemiev @Sibelephant 58.5 38 96.5
3 GM Parham Maghsoodloo @Parhamov 68 24 92
4 GM Haik Martirosyan @Micki-taryan 59.5 28 87.5
5 GM Vladimir Fedoseev @Bigfish1995 58 28 86
6 GM Nordibek Abdusattorov @ChessWarrior7197 67.5 16 83.5
7 GM Alireza Firouzja @Firouzja2003 65 14 79
8 GM Maxime Vachier-Lagrave @LyonBeast 49 28 77
9 IM Tuan Minh Le @wonderfultime 66.5 10 76.5
10 GM Maksim Chigaev @Fandorine 64 12 76
11 GM Sergey Karjakin @SergeyKarjakin 65 10 75
12 GM Vladislav Kovalev @vladislavkovalev 66 8 74
13 GM Dmitry Andreikin @2Vladimirovich90 57 14 71
14 GM Grigoriy Oparin @OparinGrigoriy 50.5 20 70.5
15 GM Raunak Sadhwani @RaunakSadhwani2005 63.5 4 67.5
16 GM Peter Svidler @PSvidler 50 14 64
17 GM Aleksandar Indjic @Beca95 57 6 63
18 GM Boris Grachev @Guenplen 47.5 12 59.5
19 GM Giga Kuparadze @GigaQuparadze 56.5 2 58.5
20 GM Alexander Grischuk @Grischuk 49.5 6 55.5

Games final eight

The Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix is presented by Gambit, where you can play classic games like Reversi, Backgammon, and Oh Ship with players from around the world.

More information about the Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix can be found here.

More from PeterDoggers
Nepomniachtchi Repeats Levitov Chess Week Victory

Nepomniachtchi Repeats Levitov Chess Week Victory

Nepomniachtchi, Svidler Lead As Levitov Chess Week Becomes Two-horse Race

Nepomniachtchi, Svidler Lead As Levitov Chess Week Becomes Two-horse Race