Jobava Wins 16th Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix

Jobava Wins 16th Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix

| 13 | News

GM Baadur Jobava won the 16th Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix, his first in the series. The Georgian grandmaster beat GM Le Quang Liem of Vietnam 2-1 in the knockout final.

The next Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix will be played on September 22 at 10 a.m. Pacific / 19:00 Central Europe.

The 16th Speed Chess Grand Prix tournament was held on Tuesday, September 15, with 710 participants. GMs Nodirbek Abdusattorov and Peter Svidler tied for first place in the Swiss part after both scored 9/10.

The live broadcast of the tournament.

One of the best games from the Swiss part was Svidler's win as Black against Le Quang Liem. It was not without mistakes (what can you expect with a 3+1 time control) but was great entertainment.

Along with Abdusattorov, Jobava, and Svidler, GMs Kirill Alekseenko, Anton Korobov, Le Quang Liem, and IMs Le Tuan Minh and Viktor Gazik qualified for the eight-player knockout.

September 15 Speed Chess Grand Prix | Swiss Final Standings (Top 20)

Rk Fed Title Username Name Score SB
1 GM @ChessWarrior7197 Nodirbek Abdusattorov 9 59.25
2 GM @PSvidler Peter Svidler 9 57
3 GM @BilodeauA Kirill Alekseenko 8.5 52.25
4 IM @wonderfultime Tuan Minh Le 8.5 51
4 GM @GOGIEFF Anton Korobov 8.5 51
6 GM @LiemLe Liem Le 8.5 49.5
7 IM @Funo09 Viktor Gazik 8.5 43.25
8 GM @exoticprincess Baadur Jobava 8.5 43
9 GM @mishanick Aleksey Sarana 8 49.5
10 GM @Bigfish1995 Vladimir Fedoseev 8 49.25
11 GM @Borsch7 Maxim Matlakov 8 49
12 GM @RaunakSadhwani2005 Raunak Sadhwani 8 47.25
13 GM @TigrVShlyape Gata Kamsky 8 46.5
14 GM @David_Paravyan David Paravyan 8 45.75
15 GM @GHANDEEVAM2003 Arjun Erigaisi 8 45.5
16 GM @suryaganguly Surya Shekhar Ganguly 8 42.5
17 FM @Taron_Shagbazyan Taron Shagbazyan 8 40.75
17 GM @Shield12 Shamsiddin Vokhidov 8 40.75
19 GM @eljanov Pavel Eljanov 7.5 48.25
19 GM @Alexander_Moskalenko Alexander Moskalenko 7.5 48.25

Svidler wasn't the Sith Lord in the next part as he got knocked out right away by Gazik. That first round, where a win in the first game is immediately decisive, is rather cruel.

Jobava reached the final by eliminating Abdusattorov and Le Tuan Minh, while Le Quang Liem beat Alekseenko and then Gazik.

Jobava then won the first game in the final but lost the second. Interestingly, both were RN versus RN endgames. The Georgian GM then won the third, again as Black—another encounter that shouldn't be missed:

That's the kind of chess we like, and it was perfectly matched that one of the greatest hackers of them all, GM Simon Williams, was the commentator of the day.

"I had no idea what was going on in that last game," Williams started his interview with the winner, who replied that it was also the case for him.

Jobava managed to win a few Titled Tuesdays in the older formats in 2014, 2015, and 2016, but this was his first win in the SCC GP series. "The format is extremely tough and very interesting," he said. 

Interestingly, the Georgian GM was streaming his play during the tournament for the first time and said he had less stress than when he's not streaming.

Jobava won the $1,000 first prize and 12 GP points, while Le Quang Liem took second ($500 and eight GP points). Le Tuan Minh and Gazik both won $200 and four GP points, while the losing quarterfinalists each earned $100 and two GP points. 

GM Harika Dronavalli (@Elegance_Riks) won the $100 prize for being the top-scoring female player.

Jobava's stream

Below are the current Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix standings. At the end of the season, the players with the four best scores will advance to the Speed Chess Championship to be hosted later this year.

Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix | Standings After September 15 (Top 20)

# Title Country Username Name Swiss
1 GM @Hikaru Hikaru Nakamura 68 52 120
2 GM @Parhamov Parham Maghsoodloo 68 24 92
3 GM @Sibelephant Vladislav Artemiev 51 38 89
4 GM @Micki-taryan Haik Martirosyan 59.5 28 87.5
5 GM @ChessWarrior7197 Nordibek Abdusattorov 67.5 16 83.5
6 GM @Firouzja2003 Alireza Firouzja 65 14 79
7 GM @SergeyKarjakin Sergey Karjakin 65 10 75
8 GM @vladislavkovalev Vladislav Kovalev 66 8 74
9 GM @2Vladimirovich90 Dmitry Andreikin 57 14 71
10 GM @OparinGrigoriy Grigoriy Oparin 50.5 20 70.5
11 GM @LyonBeast Maxime Vachier-Lagrave 41.5 28 69.5
12 IM @wonderfultime Tuan Minh Le 58.5 10 68.5
13 GM @Fandorine Maksim Chigaev 56.5 12 68.5
14 GM @Bigfish1995 Vladimir Fedoseev 49.5 16 65.5
15 GM @Beca95 Aleksandar Indjic 57 6 63
16 GM @RaunakSadhwani2005 Raunak Sadhwani 55.5 4 59.5
17 GM @Guenplen Boris Grachev 47.5 12 59.5
18 GM @PSvidler Peter Svidler 42.5 14 56.5
19 GM @Grischuk Alexander Grischuk 49.5 6 55.5
20 GM @Oleksandr_Bortnyk Oleksandr Bortnyk 41 12 53

Games final eight

The Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix is presented by Gambit, where you can play classic games like Reversi, Backgammon, and Oh Ship with players from around the world.

More information about the Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix can be found here.

More from PeterDoggers
Gender Bias Research Shows Parents, Mentors Shortchange Girls’ Chess Potential

Gender Bias Research Shows Parents, Mentors Shortchange Girls’ Chess Potential

Nepomniachtchi Repeats Levitov Chess Week Victory

Nepomniachtchi Repeats Levitov Chess Week Victory