Bortnyk Blazes Bullet Brawl Field

Bortnyk Blazes Bullet Brawl Field

| 19 | Chess Event Coverage

Ukraine's GM Oleksandr Bortnyk won July's final Bullet Brawl after chalking up 70 wins in the two-hour arena en route to an insurmountable 261 score. His journey to the top was marked by a 26-game win streak in the final 30 minutes of the event.

GMs Daniel Naroditsky and Jose Martinez attempted to wrest the $400 first prize from Bortnyk but had to settle for second and third respectively, which they both achieved comfortably. IM Karina Ambartsumova once again claimed the $100 best female prize ahead of WGM Meri Arabidze while Turkiye's Alparslan Cenikli ruled the roost in the community event.

As usual, the next edition of Bullet Brawl will take place next week on Saturday, August 5, 2023, at 1 p.m. ET/19:00 CEST.

How to review games?
The games from July's final Bullet Brawl can be found here.

With many of the world's top players having landed in Baku, Azerbaijan, ahead of the 206-player 2023 FIDE World Cup, July's final Bullet Brawl left a balanced top end where it was anyone's guess who would take the event. Bortnyk entered at 10 a.m. local time as the top seed and suffered a loss against GM Sergei Zhigalko in his first game. In spite of the early setback, the Ukrainian GM quickly bounced to a commanding lead after winning 12 straight games.

Keeping his cool seemed to be part of the plan for the energetic victor, who streamed on Twitch as he played. A pre-move or two helped keep positive energy flowing throughout.

While his early streak was impressive, a 26-game one at the tail end of the arena allowed him to tighten his grasp on the trophy. Bortnyk blended speed with precision in his run that featured wins against the likes of GMs Nihal Sarin, Jose Ibarra, Zhigalko, and Pablo Zarnicki.

Bortnyk's brother, IM Mykola Bortnyk, turned out to be the biggest thorn in his side during the streak, and after 103 moves, the eventual winner flagged his kin with just a single second remaining on his clock. Fortunately, he already had first place under lock and key.

A sea of green. Bortnyk's win streak extends beyond the limits of a computer screen.

Proving a worthy challenger to Bortnyk, Naroditsky won 64 games, drew seven, and lost three; however, he was limited because he joined the arena late. This didn't stop him from bowling over several titled players with incisive theoretical lines on his way to the $250 second prize.

For those interested in the 13-move demolition above, check out the game below that saw the American GM play with 100 percent accuracy according to's Game Review.

Ambartsumova also cemented herself as the women's player to beat and has appeared in the prizewinners list more times than any other player in Bullet Brawl so far (rivaled only by GM Hikaru Nakamura who has won the event an astounding seven times). Ambartsumova's tactical prowess was on full display, particularly in her kingside onslaught against FM Atilla Eynullayev as the arena drew to a close.

For the next few weeks, various contenders are expected to win Bullet Brawl as the king of Bullet Brawl, Nakamura, attempts to win the World Cup. Keep an eye out for players like Naroditsky, GM Andrew Tang, GM Eric Hansen, and IM Renato Terry, who will all fancy their chances to take the event in future editions.


Rank Fed Title Name Username Rating Score
1 GM Oleksandr Bortnyk Oleksandr_Bortnyk 3252 261
2 GM Daniel Naroditsky DanielNaroditsky 3256 233
3 GM Jose Martinez Josepm 3062 196
4 IM Terry Renato MITerryble 3038 179
5 GM Raunak Sadhwani RaunakSadhwani 3026 177
6 GM Eric Hansen hansen 3022 173
7 GM Sergei Zhigalko Zhigalko_Sergei 3071 172
8 IM Mykola Bortnyk Mykola-Bortnyk 3002 143
9 IM Matvey Galchenko MatthewG-p4p 2951 137
10 CM Eqor Baskakov stollenmonster 2868 132
11 GM Matthias Bluebaum Msb2 2976 130
12 FM Dachey Lin 1800_strength 2887 125
13 IM Mahdi Gholami MetiForce 2958 125
14 FM Dmitry Goltsev GoltsevDmitry2000 2838 111
15 GM Jose Ibarra jcibarra 2893 109
16 NM Janak Awatramani 12teen 2867 108
17 GM Vugar Rasulov vugarrasulov 2870 103
18 GM Leon Livaic Elsa167 2839 102
19 CM Nika Volkov NikaVolkov 2871 101
20 GM Gata Kamsky TigrVShlyape 2760 96

Bullet Brawl is an exciting new titled arena that features's top bullet specialists that now takes place weekly on Saturdays. The format is a two-hour arena with a 1+0 time control; the prize fund is $2,500.

Much like Titled Tuesday and Arena Kings, Bullet Brawl often features top GMs, including Hikaru Nakamura, Daniel Naroditsky, Andrew Tang, Tuan Minh Le, and many more!

Previous coverage:

More from FM JackRodgers
Bok, Oparin Star As 2023 Collegiate Chess League Launches

Bok, Oparin Star As 2023 Collegiate Chess League Launches

Nihal Sets Record With 56-Game Unbeaten Run

Nihal Sets Record With 56-Game Unbeaten Run