Blogs
Pawn sacrifice and active king

Pawn sacrifice and active king

AttilaTurzo
| 4

In round 8 I played my 3rd game against the 12 years old Greek talent Antonios Gkavardinas. 

He made a new move compared to our 1st game. He played c6 instead of Nh5 to catch my f4 bishop. I used the similar b4-b5 pawn sacrifice theme like in my other 2 games in the tourney:  

Queens gambit victory against Gkavardinas Antonios

The middlegame was very sharp, but after a few mistakes I got a much better endgame. I had a centralized king and a c7 passed pawn. He also had 2 passed pawns so it was not clear how good my position is. I found the way to activate my king even more: 

 

In the morning I ran in the forest. I was so peaceful and beautiful. I suggest you to join me next time!

Team-Composition with round-results

  1. Young generation (RtgAvg:1950, TB1: 0 / TB2: 0)
Bo. Name Rtg FED FideID 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Pts. Games RtgAvg
1 Anishka Vikram 2000 IND 45013314 0 0 ½ 0 ½ ½ 0 ½ 2,0 8 2140
2 Milovs Daniels 1905 LAT 11623187 0 1 0 1 ½ 0 1 0 3,5 8 2093
3 Gkavardinas Antonios 1944 GRE 25883097 ½ 0 1 ½ ½ ½ 1 0 4,0 8 2088
  2. Old generation (RtgAvg:2107, TB1: 0 / TB2: 0)
Bo. Name Rtg FED FideID 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Pts. Games RtgAvg
1 IM Turzo Attila 2338 HUN 704954 1 1 1 1 ½ 1 1 1 7,5 8 1957
2 Torok Tamas Titusz 2008 HUN 715026 1 1 0 0 ½ ½ 0 ½ 3,5 8 1943
3 Poor Sandor 1975 HUN 703460 ½ 0 ½ ½ ½ ½ 0 1 3,5 8 1949

You can look all the details of the tourney at http://chess-results.com/tnr631905.aspx?lan=1&art=1&turdet=YES 

Today , the final game will start at 10:00 am Budapest time, which is 9:00 am London, 4:00 am New York, 1:00 am Los Angeles time.

You can watch the LIVE games if you click here

I accept new students. I opened up new time slots in the American nights, European mornings and in the American mornings, European afternoons.

If you would like to improve, please check the article about my coaching philosophy and methods in this article:


You can email me about lessons at attilaturzo@gmail.com
Have great games!